any suggestions?

hd_coop

Lifetime Supporting Member
hey guys,
I am a controls-engineer coop student who is just starting out with some basic programming of slc 5/03's and panelview. i will be a sophomore this coming fall and have yet to take any classes that come close to pertaining to this field. i am starting to purchase some equipment of my own to play around with at home. I just bid on a micrologix 1000 PLC on ebay and plan on getting some random switches, lights, sensors (they are dirt cheap). eventually i would like to get a panelview (600 preferably). i would like suggestions on any equipment to buy that i haven't mentioned already and also some fun little projects i can do with this equipment. I have seen stuff about the 'traffic light' problem posted several times and have barely started on that one.....I dont really see what the big deal is with it, I dont think it will be hard at all.
thanks,
josh

(btw, if anybody has any old/outdated/unused equipment they could sell for cheap please email me at [email protected] :) )

hd_coop said:
i would like suggestions on any equipment to buy that i haven't mentioned already and also some fun little projects i can do with this equipment.

Dont forget Software.......You are talking Allen Bradley, so you it ain't gonna be cheap.

Dont forget Software.......You are talking Allen Bradley, so you it ain't gonna be cheap.

ya, i know. I was hoping to get my dad to help out some with that aspect of it, since he is on maintenance and is in the process of learning PLCs as well. I think it'd be a valuable investment on both of our parts.

Also... word to the wise, If your considering buying the software on EBay, make sure it includes the key too, because most of the ones I have seen dont. Other wise you have a shiny coaster in a fancy box!

Regards,

Steve

For beginners looking for an entry-level system to play with at home, go to:

http://www.ab.com/plclogic/micrologix/1000/accessories.html