how to connect to a plc using ethernet/ip connection?

vlad.rja

Hello everyone,
I am new to this forum and I am not very good at PLC's, but... I need to connect SLC 5/05 to my laptop using the Ethernet IP connection. I've been told to connect it through a crossover cable directly into the NIC, but I am not sure if you can actually do it this way without any routers or switches cotrolling the traffic. By the way, I am using RSLinx and RSLogix to connect and to work with the PLC, respectively. Every time I do that, Windows says that the connection has limited or no connectivity, and RSLogix says that it can not get any response from the device, although it seems like the Driver in RSLynx is working properly.
Here is the full name of my network card: Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller.
So, has anyone here been stock on a similar problem? And what was the solution to it?
Thank you in advance.

If you use a crossover cable, you don't need any hardware between the PC and PLC. Your problem may be that your network card is set for dynamic addressing (DHCP). You need to go into the properties of the network connection and set a static IP address on the same subnet as the PLC's IP.

Vlad, it sounds like the network card on your laptop is set for DHCP mode, i.e. "Obtain an IP address automatically". Before you attempt any communications, you would have to set it for a fixed IP address first.

The IP address you set it to must match the IP address on the CPU, so you would have to find it out first. If your CPU's IP address is, say, 192.168.1.1, set your network card to 192.168.1.200 with subnet mask 255.255.255.0 or something like that.

Once you do all that, you should be able to ping CPU's IP adderess from your laptop. If you don't have a crossover Ethernet cable for the direct connection, a small cheap network switch would do just fine.

Edit: Kolyur beat me to a minute.