kandymann

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello all

Software:
Factory Talk View Studio ME V6.10
RSLogix 5000

Hardware:
Laptop PC running Windows 7
1769-L32E Compact Logix Proccessor (Ethernet)
1769-IA16
1769-OW16

This is my first time using FT View Studio and I am testing an application for a simple start/stop of a motor. Basically I am just trying to familiarize myself with HMI software as I will have a real life application starting up very soon. I have a PLC Trainer using a 1769-L32E controller with 16 point input and output cards.

Here is what I have done...
1. I created a new application in FT View Studio.
2. I created a display with a start and stop PB icos. I am using a pilot light and an idicator that my motor is ON. (I also referenced the program tags with the HMI tags)
3. I configured communications by going to "communications setup" under the RSLinx Enterprise icon and began setting up what I thought was the correct drivers.

Whenever I try to test my application by running the FT View ME Station and I push START with my mouse, nothing happens. (I am running the run time file on my PC)

I downloaded the RSLogix 5000 program to the proccessor first and tried to test the application and no cigar.

So I figure I have either configured the drivers wrong or maybe I have not refrenced my tags correctly.
I have read the PDF file for the FT View Studio software and watched the videos and still no help to me.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Last edited:
The biggest question is "what ControlLogix tags are your start and stop buttons connected to" ?

What type of Pushbutton object are you using (momentary, maintained, latched, etc) ?

For each pushbutton object, in the Connections tab, you need to browse for (or manually enter) the Shortcut and the Tag Name for the tag you want to command and display.

Kandymann,

Just a quick check. Did you copy your shortcuts from design to runtime. On you RS Linx communications tab it is in the top right.