Modbus

Don Diego

Hi folks ,
I am an Electrical Engineering Technician technician based in Ghana - Africa.
Which is the most prevalent industrial protocol on the planet? Modbus or Hart?
I want to know the usefulness of the modbus protocol beyond controlling vfds and ON/OFF control /monitoring of field devices.
Can modbus be used to for instance gauge the volume of liquid flowing through a transmitter and how?

I am really impressed with this blog!

Facebook wisesamlafo

Last edited:
Modbus!! RTU or TCP - RTU is probably more popular. Many devices have Modbus available - most flow transmitters I see are 4-20ma though.

My observation - and it's by no means universal - is that Modbus is used extensively for communications between higher-level control devices like drives, I/O, and other "smart" transmitters, whereas HART is quite common with process measurement devices like flow meters, pressure sensors, etc.

My opinion, which is even less universal, is that Hart will in the long term probably lose more and more market share to Ethernet-based technology like Modbus TCP/EthernetIP/Profinet. Of course, Hart will always have it's place, and I think it'll live longer than I will, but I wouldn't be investing the farm in Hart these days.

My observation - and it's by no means universal - is that Modbus is used extensively for communications between higher-level control devices like drives, I/O, and other "smart" transmitters, whereas HART is quite common with process measurement devices like flow meters, pressure sensors, etc.

My opinion, which is even less universal, is that Hart will in the long term probably lose more and more market share to Ethernet-based technology like Modbus TCP/EthernetIP/Profinet. Of course, Hart will always have it's place, and I think it'll live longer than I will, but I wouldn't be investing the farm in Hart these days.