SVID file for SIEMENS S7 1200

RockyNivas

Dear All,

I want to connect a S7 1200 to MES through OPC server. To be honest I am very new to this and I don't have enough knowledge on that. In my project they are asking some "SVID Files". Kindly help me and advice what is mean by this and how can I get this file or create this file.

Thanks in Advance.

Hello: There are different vendors who provide Windows drivers which have OPC server or OPC UA server functionality with Simatic S7 client functionality. Since the S7-1200 is a Simatic S7 server, it is possible to access tags in the S7-1200 program with an OPC client (or OPC UA client).
The product I am most familiar with is Softing dataFEED. You can download the evaluation version and do thorough testing before purchasing the product.
https://data-intelligence.softing.com/products/opc-software-platform/datafeed-opc-suite/

With regards to "SVID Files", it does not sound like an OPC technology term. A quick google search came up with terminology of a different technology. Hope this helps.

I've never heard of an SVID file before.

As the other poster said, the simplest plan might be to use the PLC's integrated OPC UA server (if it's at the latest FW & V16).

Yes, I have just realized, S7-1200 has now native OPCUA server functionality. If the amount of data required is not too high, and if you have the right firmware version and TIA version, you can actually connect an OPCUA client directly. However, make sure it is an OPC UA client. It will not do for an old OPC (Classic) client.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nXV37QcEjSM

Hello: There are different vendors who provide Windows drivers which have OPC server or OPC UA server functionality with Simatic S7 client functionality. Since the S7-1200 is a Simatic S7 server, it is possible to access tags in the S7-1200 program with an OPC client (or OPC UA client).