Upgrade from 1756-L61 to 1756-L61S

zacslade

Hi all,

I have a facility run by a 1756-L61, and I want to upgrade it to an L61S with L61SP B, using the same IO modules. This is my first time performing this type of upgrade, so I'm concerned that I might run into an issue related to implementation differences between regular and GuardLogix controllers.

Pending some more research, my plan is to just update the code so that the PLC in Logix is L61S instead of L61, download it onto the controller using a test rack in my office, and then swap the controllers during the next downtime event.

Things I'm aware of that I need to look out for include:

- Setting an SNN when the L61S is plugged into the backplane where it will finally reside.
- Setting a safety task signature
- Ensuring that the GuardLogix is the CST master

Does anyone here have any experiences related to this type of upgrade that could help me catch bugs I might encounter?

Also, I've been looking around and I haven't found information about firmware revisions supported by the L61S, but RSLogix seems to only want to let me go up to 20. Do you guys know what the latest firmware revision is that I can put on that controller?

Thanks in advance!
Zac

I doubt you'll have much of a problem.
The SSN might take care of itself.
And you don't have to create a signature.

Definitely set the CST master and make sure you set the time - doesn't have to be the right time, but it needs a time. I got tripped on that recently - never recall needed to do that prior.

If you are upgrading to version 20 from a previous version, you may need to flash up some other modules in the system.

I got a few questions to ask. It might be that you know all of this but you don't mention some things in your post so it got me wondering.

You don't mention the 1756-LSP, or add safety I/O, or modify the program into safety task and main task.

Are you familiar with these aspects as well?