CLICK PLC Short Timer (5ms)

Nubbb

I am new to PLCs and have purchased a CLICK PLC for what I hope is a very simple application.

I wish to hit a Start Button and have the PLC do 10 cycles of:

A: turn on SSR relay #1 for 5ms, then turn it off. (5ms on time)

B: turn on SSR relay #5 for 5ms, then turn it off. (5ms on time)

C: Wait for one minute.

At the end of 10 minutes, & 10 cycles each relay should have been on for a total of 50ms and the Start Button Re-Armed.

Can anybody give me some guidance? This will be my first experience with a PLC. Thanks So Much in advance.

Lots of ways to accomplish it, with timers/counters, etc...

But a brute force way is just have your start button start a 10 minute timer, and use simple compare statements of the timer's current time to turn on your relays.

To create each time period, use the Click comparison operators (=, not =, >, < or combinations of two (> =). The address to use for comparison is "TDxxx, where xxx is your Timer number.

But you need time in miliseconds, and if you set your timer range to "ms" instead of "sec", then it can only time up to 32767 ms or 32.7 seconds, therefore it will be difficult to do the job with only 1 timer.

Probably what you need is one 11 ms timer (two 5-ms periods + 1), one 60-second timer, and one counter with a preset of "10".

For example, the steps could be say
Step 1: Start pushbutton seals in a RUN internal PLC relay (maybe C1). C1 triggers T2.
Step 2: Timer T1 (current value TD1) has a value of 000 to 005, then turn on Relay #1.
Step 3: When Timer T1 (current value TD1) has a value of 005 to 010, then turn on Relay #5.
Step 4: When T1 goes ON (meaning TD1 = 011, start Timer T2 (set for 60 seconds.
Step 5: When T2 goes ON, trigger Counter CT1 (which is set for "10".
Step 6: When CT1 goes ON, reset RUN Relay C1 and then Counter CT1. (C1 will cause T1 and T2 to be reset also).

Last edited: