Wiring Point I/O OB4E Output Module

jkerekes

How do you wire a load to the OB4E Point I/O module. Even though each pt. is capable of 1A. with a module total of 3A., this is being supplied by the Point bus. I'm using an AENT module, which according to tech. support can only supply 1A. It looks like you can't wire an external 24VDC source to the module. I'm not sure if you can with the OB2E which has the V terminals. I've never used Point I/O before. Thanks!

4-19-2013 6-50-50 PM.jpg

So for 24VDC I would use a 1734-EP24DC? I don't understand why you can supply an external supply to these modules. Then why does the OB2E have V terminals? What are they for? I used the IAB to configure this.

OK. The point Bus (5V. ) is 1A. The 24VDC can supply 10 A. These are for the AENT comm module. So does that mean if I need 10 A. Output, the 24VDC supply to the AENT will need to supply at least 10A.

POINT I/O can get a little confusing if you just look at the detail diagrams for the I/O modules. Take a bit of a step back and look at the various ways that the POINT I/O Selection Guide 1734-SG001 illustrates power distribution. It does a good job of explaining the different ways the EP24DC, the EPAC, and the FPD modules distribute and separate power.

When you connect 24V DC to the 1734-AENT's terminal block, that power goes both to the internal electronics and the communication POINTBus, as well as to the Field Power bus along the POINT I/O assembly.

There is a DC/DC converter that provides 5V to the POINTBus and the AENT adapter itself. That's the 1 Ampere value that's been discussed.

You can see the Field Power bus on the 1734 bus connector; it's the two larger slider connectors closest to the terminal blocks.