fifo for 2 machines

James Mcquade

Hi everyone,

we have had 2 machines delivered to us, #1 is 12 stations and #2 is 36 stations. each does the same thing.

We have installed it and have started running it, trouble is,
someone under estimated the cycle time for one of the processes and now our plant utilities is unable to keep up with the process.

what they want me to do is to modify the program and use a fifo. the first station loaded is the first run and so on. I have looked for fifo posts and i don't think i did it correctly because i didn't find much information.

I have never used a fifo load / fifo unload before so i am needing some help.
I have done several programs with indexed addressing but i don't know if this will work. I can load the counter registry, but how can i move the station addresses in a word shift manner?

Any help would be much appreciated on the fifo and addressing question.

thanks in advance,
james

Last edited:
Your going to have to describe in much more detail what the problem is and how you think it could be solved. Then someone could suggest the best way to accomplish it.

Right. What informatation do you need to capture at each station and what do you do with that information downstream?

Also, what do the plant utilites have to do with it?? :confused:

Paul,

Plant utilities consists of all the inputs needed to run a process, including process water, cooling water, wastewater, firewater, electricity, compressed air, natural gas, communications bandwidth, and so on. If the machine cycles are longer than expected, that can cause one or more of one of the plant utilities to be overloaded. Electricity and compressed air are the usually the first to reach their limits.

James,
My first response would be to ask the machine builder to modify the programs. They can do it in a flash, but you will first have to learn how the entire program works before you can change it without causing more problems.