RS logix program Allen Bradley

GIVITSUM

HI Everyone!.

I'm very new to porgramming PLC's. I'm busy writting my first 'real' program on RS logix for an AB SLC500.

Anyway my program runs throught a set of tasks then illuminates an output (light), Then does another sequence of tasks then illuminates another light when the program is complete.

My question is how can i program a stop command, so if its pressed less than half way through (first light) the program resets to initial conditions. If more than half complete the program continues to complete the current cycle then halts.

Also how do i make a Start / Stop button?

I know you clever people out there will find this very easy to answer.

Many Thanks

1.What you mean start stop button?
first push start second stop?
Search this forum you will find lot of samples.
If you talking 2 push buttons one for start and one for stop you really new.

Regarding your question to stop the cycel in certain point and to stop in the end it matter of conditions.
After the stage you want to continue the cycle to the end block the
stop button and end the cycle.
See the above picture if you press stop before stage 5 it will stop immediately if not when it come to the last stage and stop pressed
b/15 will go on.and stop the cycle.

slc1.jpg

When you say:
my program runs throught a set of tasks then illuminates an output (light), Then does another sequence of tasks then illuminates another light when the program is complete.

Do you mean that a process controlled by the PLC goes through a set of tasks, or that the PLC interally is performing some functions, then lighting a light?

If this is internal, remember that your scan time could be under 50 milleseconds, and during this time the inputs are not checked for status, only an "image" of what the inputs were before that scan.

If it is an external process that runs through many scans of the PLC, then ArikBY's setting an interrupt bit is the way to go.