Forcing Analog Output...?

TRW0930

Hello all...I'm a newbie with PLCs. What I'm trying to do if possible is to force an analog output to control a damper motor manually...we want to test all the motor in our HVAC prior to the COLD weather...can this be done? I thought I knew as I can force discrete I/O but analog is a different story....any ideas would be great...:unsure:

Temporairly disable the rungs which set the value for the analog output. Create a rung to write the value of a suitable register to the analog output. Then modify the value in that register.

Yes, it can be done. The details vary with the PLC brand and model, but essentially when enabled by a manual contact (bit) you load a value from 0 to 100% of the data range into the appropriate register. The value can be from an HMI or a fixed preset or whatever.

While you can't force an analog value by just typing in a number, an analog output is just a group of discrete outputs and you should be able to force it as such. Whatever value you want to use, convert it to binary and force all 16 bits of the output word to the appropriate values. (I haven't actually tried this but it seems like it should work.) However, if you want to be able to modify the value on-the-fly, it may be easier to create alternate logic or use an HMI as others have suggested.

well, there are "forces" – and then there are "forces" ...

we might not all be speaking the same language here ...

when most PLC people say "force" they're talking about some type of BUILT-IN function ...

some brands – and types – of PLCs have such a BUILT-IN "force" feature for analog values ... other PLCs do NOT ...

but ...

regardless of whether the system has a built-in "force" feature for analog outputs, it should still be possible to "make-the-analog-output-do-whatever-we-want" ... most of the suggestions so far are related to that NON-built-in type of action ...

party on ...