Scaling using y=mx+b – a “no-math” shortcut ...

Ron Beaufort

Lifetime Supporting Member
Greetings to all,

someone recently posted a couple of forum requests (here and here) which went something like this:

I have an SLC-5/02 processor and I want to know how to set up the SCL function to read a 0 to 10 volt signal and scale it in my program so that I can display 0 to 3000 psi on my PanelView. I need to know how the math behind this works step by step. I have no experience with analog inputs – this will be my first. I have read the help menu about the SCL instruction and I am lost at obtaining the values I need for Rate, Offset, etc. Scaled max-scaled min and divided by input max-input min. Am I anywhere close? I would appreciate any help anyone could offer.

this got me to thinking about all of the people that I’ve run into over the years who have needed help with this particular topic ... (and that once included myself) ... what follows is my attempt to cover the subject in enough detail so that anyone can “start from scratch” and end up feeling comfortable with the material and how to use it ...

I’ve decided to attack this particular subject in reverse ... specifically, I’m not going to start out with an introduction and then work through all of the underlying math involved – and then finally end up with the “cherry on top” shortcut that I personally use ... instead I’m going to get right to the punch line and share the shortcut at the very beginning ...

notice: the author has no connection whatever with the Texas Instruments Company and will receive no compensation, financial or otherwise, from the reader’s purchase of any recommended calculators