Micrologix Analogue Input

forqnc

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all,
This is my first time programming an analogue input. I understand how the SCP instruction works, and have set the channel to 4-20mA. Using a meter that gives 4-20mA, when I increase the mA, the PLC maxed out at around 17.12mA.
External Dip switches are set to ON (current), what am I missing to get to the full 20 mA without the PLC hitting 32767. See picture, Input is on I:1.0.

DSCF9698.JPG

Hard to troubleshoot from afar. It may help if you can tell us the complete catalog number of your analog card (module) and if you can show us a diagram of how you have the meter connected. What is generating the ma?

Hard to troubleshoot from afar. It may help if you can tell us the complete catalog number of your analog card (module) and if you can show us a diagram of how you have the meter connected. What is generating the ma?

Not sure where the complete catalog number is located so see attached pictures. The meter I am using is a Martel Electronics IVC-222HP
https://www.ebay.com/p/Martel-Electronics-Ivc-222hp-Voltage-Current-Calibrator/1583110512?iid=183013047100&chn=ps
Connection is +ve from the meter to IN0+ and -ve from the meter to IN0-, meter connections are the back set for mA output.

have you tried 0-20mA?

If you mean Input Min = 0 and Input Max = 20 in the SCP instruction, then this faults the PLC, due to the input value being higher than the set parameters. I also tried, in the program, to subtract 6300 (start value for 4mA) from the input to see if that would "trick" the PLC to going up to the 32767, but it stopped again at 17mA with a value of 26400.

Have you tried different scaling for the analog channel?
View attachment 48956

Yes, change the scaling and the value stopped at 17400 and 17.14mA. Also tried changing the filter values, still no joy.
Just for troubleshooting I tried the other 3 channels, got the same results.