Trouble Connecting to PLC

RyeGuy

Hello,

I am very new to this new hobby and am having difficulties connecting to my PLC CPU. I am not sure if I am doing something completely wrong but this is the setup;

Mac running windows 7 VM, I have thunder to VGA adapter which plugs into the PLC CPU and I cannot get it to link. I have my thunderbolt port bridged on the VM, and it is recognized in on the VM. But when I try connecting using the DirectSoft software it doesnt make connection.

Connecting UDP/IP I tried manually putting in the IP address of the driver and that doesnt make a difference

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I have thunder to VGA adapter which plugs into the PLC CPU

I'm not familiar with DirectSoft, but I'm thinking a VGA adapter, even if it might happen to have the right number of pins, is not the right solution. VGA is for connecting to monitors.

For connecting via Ethernet you would need 1) an Ethernet cable 2) an IP on your computer that is in the same IP range as the device you are connecting to. Make it sure it isn't one of the IP addresses already in use.

Gotcha, I was hoping that would be an easy solution - Ive seen some that are RS-232 connectors but this specific one has the 15 pins.

Unfortunately this particular CPU (DL-250-1) uses a RJ11 6pin connector which I dont have, but I may have to go that route and purchase one

You didn't say which model PLC, but port 2 on the DL06 is a 15-pin high density Dsub which looks like a VGA port but is actually a serial port that can be configured as either RS232 or RS485.

It is the 250-1

So if I were to use the port 2 I would need to get an adapter for that VGA cable(or is it a whole new cable?) to serial before connecting it to my laptop?