You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 20th, 2022, 07:52 PM   #1
patjdixon
Member
United States

patjdixon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Lago Vista, TX
Posts: 40
OPC to Rockwell Emulate on VMWare Fusion VM

I have a MacBook running Monterey. I have a VMWare Fusion virtual machine on it running Win10. On the VM I have the Rockwell toolkit loaded. I have code running in Emulate. I want to connect remotely through OPC to the tags in Emulate; in other words, I want an OPC client on another machine to connect to tags in my Emulate code running on the Fusion VM.
- Is this possible?
- Is there a way to test this using a test client; using the IP address of my VM for the host?
- Does it have to be OPC DA, or can OPC UA work?
- Any tricks to make it work?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2022, 08:04 PM   #2
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,559
It should be possible - I've done something similar (though not quite the same) on an Intel mac a few years ago. Here's my thread on the subject which may contain some useful information.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2022, 09:58 PM   #3
patjdixon
Member
United States

patjdixon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Lago Vista, TX
Posts: 40
Thanks for the help, still can't connect

I read through the post you referenced. I checked everything on the host. On my client I do not have Rockwell. I have a Win7 virtual amchine on the same MacBook and am trying to get a OPC test client from Integration Objects to see the Emulate tags on my Win10 VM. I can ping the Win10 host, but it must not be able to find the ProgID. The attached bitmaps show the problem. I have tried RSLinx OPC Server, RSLinx Remote OPC Server, RSOPC Gateway, and FactoryTalk Gateway for the OPC server name.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2022-06-20 at 8.46.42 PM.jpg (196.5 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2022-06-20 at 8.48.27 PM.jpg (233.7 KB, 7 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2022, 06:09 PM   #4
QvixoteRoux
Member
Mexico

QvixoteRoux is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Reynosa
Posts: 87
I guess the first step is to make the virtual machine accesible remotely to the other computer, assign the VM a static IP and make sure it can be pinged from yout other computer
__________________
Mexican, need to practice engrish, please cooperate

Industrial Engineer working as PLC programmer.
---
"Everybody believes what is easier for them to believe"
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2022, 06:35 PM   #5
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by patjd**** View Post
I read through the post you referenced. I checked everything on the host. On my client I do not have Rockwell. I have a Win7 virtual amchine on the same MacBook and am trying to get a OPC test client from Integration Objects to see the Emulate tags on my Win10 VM. I can ping the Win10 host, but it must not be able to find the ProgID. The attached bitmaps show the problem. I have tried RSLinx OPC Server, RSLinx Remote OPC Server, RSOPC Gateway, and FactoryTalk Gateway for the OPC server name.
Sorry, this is a little outside my experience - I could try to fumble my way through but I'd be guessing just as much as you at this stage!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2022, 08:42 PM   #6
patjdixon
Member
United States

patjdixon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Lago Vista, TX
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by QvixoteRoux View Post
I guess the first step is to make the virtual machine accesible remotely to the other computer, assign the VM a static IP and make sure it can be pinged from yout other computer
If you look at the images, you see the Win7 VM pinging the Win10 VM host.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2022, 09:09 PM   #7
patjdixon
Member
United States

patjdixon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Lago Vista, TX
Posts: 40
I installed UaExpert on the Win7 VM client and can see the FTLinx server on the Win10 VM host, but cannot connect to Emulate (see image). Any ideas on how to connect?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2022, 02:36 PM   #8
patjdixon
Member
United States

patjdixon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Lago Vista, TX
Posts: 40
It worked with UA!

I figured it out!

I needed to use UA instead of DA to connect to the FactoryTalkLinxGateway server.

The attached images show:
- Using the Unified Architecture test client on my Win7 VM, I was able to connect to my Win10 VM and browse tags. I used the Custom Configuration with the IP address of my Win10 VM. Doing so gives me the endpoint for OPC UA configuration
- To confirm it is working, I decided to try it in Ignition. I created an OPC US connection with the endpoint configuration
- It connected!
- Using that connection, the Ignition test client can browse tags.

Therefore, on my MacBook I have to VMs with Emulate on one and OPC client on the other and they are connected through OPC UA
  Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2022, 07:40 PM   #9
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,559
Thanks for posting the follow up! I'm sure this will help plenty of others (and probably me) one day
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 11:04 PM
OPC Client in C# or Visual Basic (Alternate Title: OPC SUCKS!!!) n9xcr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 September 2nd, 2009 09:56 PM
OPC for Rslogix 500 Emulate andijkt75 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 29th, 2007 01:16 AM
HELP - Remote OPC Client glenglen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 24th, 2007 07:02 AM
OPC DX anyone ? JesperMP LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 February 20th, 2006 08:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:54 AM.


.