You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 23rd, 2022, 11:44 AM   #1
remullis
Member
United States

remullis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 167
Wonderware "Item" tagging for SLC500 tags

I am needing to add some tags in WW and I am new on creating tags within the
"Item" for SLC50). Example, I am looking at a address N17:12/5 and in WW it is pointed to N17:172/05. Looks like I need to use another format for my new addressing. If it is a binary conversion or octal is there a conversion chart, etc.

Thanks
REM
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2022, 11:52 AM   #2
Bit_Bucket_07
Member
United States

Bit_Bucket_07 is offline
 
Bit_Bucket_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 1,751
Sounds like the bits in the word N17:12 are being used in the program logic and then being buffered in N17:172 to prevent asynchronous updates for the HMI display.

The item names in WW should be the same as in the SLC. There is no conversion required.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2022, 12:44 PM   #3
remullis
Member
United States

remullis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 167
I thought they should be the same I simulated this with a new tag and had no problem.

I cant see any information written to the odd tag numbers and they all show unused. I will just create them as I normally would.

Thanks
RM
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2022, 10:38 PM   #4
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nashville, Tennessee area
Posts: 3,339
be sure to do a cross reference.
a copy, move, or file fill statement may be somewhere in the logic.
james
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting tags from RS 500 for use in Wonderware rfxcasey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 27th, 2020 12:39 PM
Wonderware Historian (InTouch memory tags) phuz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 3rd, 2017 05:26 PM
KEPDirect to Wonderware InTouch - some tags not working ryangriggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 March 6th, 2017 11:26 PM
Import Rs5000 tags to Wonderware? sjameson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 5th, 2007 11:53 AM
Control Logix tags for Wonderware brett93304 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 18th, 2007 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 AM.


.