You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 23rd, 2022, 05:15 PM   #1
Akbrewer
Member
United States

Akbrewer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Posts: 11
SLC 150 error - blast from the past

Hi,
I have an old SLC 150 processor that is throwing up a CPU Fault light. I have an EEprom program chip for it, but I can't get it to load up the program or reset or even get back into RUN mode per instructions I've found in the book and online in forums.

Using the PT1 handheld programmer I immediately get a SLC-E10 fault which in the book says it's a communication, EEprom, or hardware fault (just about anything really). Oddly, I can't clear this fault code from the PT1 by selecting the CANCEL CMD button per the instructions, my keypad doesn't do anything and seems locked up by this alarm code. So I'm afraid the PLC may be truly dead. Anything else I can try to get it back into run mode?

Then at some point I'd like to upgrade this processor to a newer version, but I only have the program stored on the EEPROM and have never had a copy of the program. How would I go about downloading off of the PLC to get a copy of the program? I'm sure there's some expensive AllenBradley communication device I need and don't have :-)

Thanks as always for any ideas. I also wanted to add that my machine is currently down and desperate to get it back online this week until I can figure something out. Just to be safe I've ordered a used processor online that I found.

Last edited by Akbrewer; June 23rd, 2022 at 05:17 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2022, 11:35 PM   #2
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nashville, Tennessee area
Posts: 3,340
you will need a dos base pc, pcis software, software manual, and programming cable.
the software will work on an xp system.
i cannot remember if i still have my cable or not.
i will have to go through my drives to find the software and manual.
please pm me as a reminder. just getting off work.
james
  Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2022, 06:22 AM   #3
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Mcquade View Post
you will need a dos base pc, pcis software, software manual, and programming cable.
the software will work on an xp system.
Noooo.... back in the day you did but not necessary, for the past 10ish years , James surprised you never ran across one of the threads about it, you can use a Windows 10 or 7 PC, the PCIS software is free

I sell a USB version of the cable... if you scroll down on this page you will find the manual and all the software links you will need

https://www.plccable.com/allen-bradl...745-pcc-cable/

Best of luck
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2022, 10:29 PM   #4
alan_505
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

alan_505 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia
Posts: 750
If you cannot connect with the hand controller, then I doubt you will be able to connect with the software, you might be best buying a second hand unit and using your EEPROM in that and then use the software to retrieve the program.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2022, 04:28 AM   #5
Akbrewer
Member
United States

Akbrewer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Posts: 11
Thanks for the help!

Appreciate the help and suggestions, I'll wait until my replacement SLC150 shows up to get me going again using the EEprom chip I have. Next plan is to hopefully recover the program off of it and convert to a newer processor program for next time. Thanks for the suggestion on the updated USB PLC communication cable, I found that online and will be buying one to recover the program off the PLC.

Cheers!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLC 150 & Square D bbishop108 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 April 9th, 2018 10:33 AM
Slc 150 Nick.Ferguson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 18th, 2011 01:43 PM
slc 100 / 150 programming manual mstanzak LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 December 5th, 2004 06:53 PM
Slc 150 rmonroe LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 13th, 2004 04:04 PM
Slc 150 Brian Crouch LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 7th, 2002 03:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 PM.


.