Automation Direct Ethernet PLC

RefineryGuy

Ok, this is the first time that I've posted a topic here and I'm pretty new to PLC's. I programmed my first DL205 with a 260 processor and a new C-More panel. It turned out fine. Now management wants me to hook up 2 more PLC's to the same C-More panel. I spoke with AD Tech Support and received all of the information that I need as far as what parts I need. What I'm looking at doing is hooking all 3 PLC's up via ethernet communication along with the C-More panel (which is currently not hooked up via the ethernet port). I've never done this before as my experience is primarily in DCS, Process Control Instrumentation and Electrical.

Here comes the question. Has anyone else hooked up an AD PLC via ethernet? If so, is there anything that I need to look for as far as problems encountered? Should I just give up now and pull out what hair I have left?

I appreciate in advance any kind of direction that anyone can give me.

Thanks

Using Ethernet, get a decent switch. One that protects the network from broadcast storms. Layer 3 managed switch if you can afford it.

We've hooked up multiple PLCs though with an EZTouch, not a CMore. The setup was fairly painless.

Netedit makes assigning the IP addresses easy.

Make sure your PC has only the wired Ethenet port active. Disable all others you may have including wireless. Set your PC's port to use a fixed IP address in the same grouping of IP addresses you will use for the PLCs and the CMore display.

After assigning IPs to the PLC Ethernet cards with Netedit use the button to test for the CPU as a check on communication between the Ethernet card and its CPU.

I just finished setting one up (not three) and it wasn't bad. Follow Bernie's instructions, and practice some patience so you won't lose anymore hair.:)