SICK DRS61 encoder and S7-SM338 counter

smf

Hello

First of all.. i have Zero experience with both the SICK encoder and the FM counter but i have to try to get this thing working.. i ran into the first trouble within a few seconds after opening the box with the enocoder, the problem was that i was reading the manual for the configuration program and i dont understand this text: "Enter your numer of lines and zero-pulse width and store the modified values with the Store-button"

i dont know what "number of lines" and "zero-pulse width" means so if anyone could explain it for me i would be very happy.

Hello, snf;

Here is a quick list of diferent incremental encoder types:
Encoder_types.jpg

Depending on what you want to do with your process, choose the application you need and store it in the encoder flash.
The zero-pulse width will be the time in ms that this signal will be at the speed the encoder will turn (you must calculate as best you can).
Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

Hello dchartier

Yes that helped a bit, thank you :)
And i have found out now what "number of lines" means (resolution) so now i'm ready to get inte the big problem..

In the last post & in the title i wrote that i was going to use sm338 but that was wrong.. aparently it's a FM350-1 counter that's used.. i found a quickstart tutorial at siemens website but i didn't think it was any good, is there any better tutorials?

@dchartier

Yes i was refering to the get3051_e.pdf document and i followed it... and guess what.. it doesn't work! :D

Whatever i do the Red LED Sf is on.. the diagnosis says incorrect parameters. I have been reading in the big manual also but right now i prefer the quickstart tutorial because it has a very easy program example but since i can't even get the hardware configuration right i'm stuck