You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 7th, 2018, 02:48 PM   #1
Slwagner73
Supporting Member
United States

Slwagner73 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bellevue, MI
Posts: 9
Dumb Newbee Question

So, just to start, I am not an engineer, but a sort-of self taught programmer.
And I am familiar with RSLogix-500, but I am just learning Studio-5000.
Here goes my question:
I would like to use a Panelview 800 HMI with a CompactLogix 1769-L27ERM PLC and a 1734-AENTR Remote I-O.
I used CCW to program the HMI, and I was sure to use the correct name for the PLC, and added the "192.168.0.2,1,0" per the manual.
I can see the HMI in RSLinks, and I can see the Remote I-O there also, but in the program, I get the stupid caution symbol for each of these devices.
And neither of them will do anything.
I get numerous errors every time I boot the HMI, and following the directions from the Rockwell site gets me nowhere.
Are these just not compatible?

Thanks for your time:
Scott
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 03:03 PM   #2
AustralIan
Member
United Kingdom

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 748
What are the errors?
- What are the errors on the HMI?
- What are the errors when you click on the stupid caution symbol?

Do you have firmware version 4.012 or later of the HMI? if not upgrade.

There are some other useful pointers and links on this technote #774421, access level everyone (you will need to sign up for an account though).
https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....il/a_id/774421

Sometimes the knowledgebase can be easier and more frank than the user manuals.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 03:19 PM   #3
Slwagner73
Supporting Member
United States

Slwagner73 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bellevue, MI
Posts: 9
AustralIan:
Thanks for the reply.
On the HMI, I have version 4.013.
And the error messages I get are for every tag. "2ata Access Error for Alias "Okay to Run the Pump, Controller PLC1, Address is PLC1:MainProgram.Okay_To_Run_Bit, Communication Flag is 0. And it is the same for all of the Tags.
As for the Studio5000 error:
For the Remote I-O, it is (Code 16#0204)Connection Request Error Connection Request Timed Out.
For the HMI error, (Code 16#0315) Connection Request Error: Invalid segment type.
I'm lost...
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 03:29 PM   #4
Slwagner73
Supporting Member
United States

Slwagner73 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bellevue, MI
Posts: 9
And after following the link you provided, it would seem that making this work together is way above my head.
I have no idea what Modbus TCP to Ethernet/IP gateway is.
So, I guess I'll go back to the more expensive PanelView.
But thanks for your time.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 03:41 PM   #5
Cellularscada
Member
United States

Cellularscada is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ga
Posts: 9
Panelview 800 will only work with the compactlogix L1 controller...
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 03:44 PM   #6
Slwagner73
Supporting Member
United States

Slwagner73 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bellevue, MI
Posts: 9
Well, that just sucks. Thanks a lot Allen-Bradley....
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 03:57 PM   #7
Cellularscada
Member
United States

Cellularscada is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ga
Posts: 9
I just done more research into that....I may be wrong... I did read where the latest firmware for panelview 800 does support th L2,L3 controller....I will read more..
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 04:03 PM   #8
Cellularscada
Member
United States

Cellularscada is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ga
Posts: 9
Im sorry...I'm wrong.... went to AB web site... it does it support L1, L2, and L3 with latest firmware
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 04:41 PM   #9
AustralIan
Member
United Kingdom

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 748
I suspect you do not need the HMI in the I/O tree, as the HMI asks the PLC for info not the other way around.

Connection request timeout means that it isn't getting anything at all back from the I/O, not even a "nope, you asked for the wrong module".

You mention you can see the HMI and Remote I/O in RSLinx, can you also see the PLC?

Double check you have entered the PLC's IP address that you can see from RSLinx in the panelview project.

Double check that you have entered the right IP address, the right adapter and right firmware version in the AENTR.

There is something simple we have missed here, the PV800 to CPLX with AENTR is a fairly standard and well tested setup.

Did anything from answer ID 66192 help?:
https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....d/66192/page/1
  Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2018, 05:26 PM   #10
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,322
Hi and Welcome to the Forum!

I'm just dealing with the communications between the PanelView 800 and the L2 controller here, as the distributed I/O is a separate issue...

Perhaps this previous thread might assist you in setting up or double-checking some of the basic requirements...

Communication problem between panelview 800 to compactlogix l2 controller

Any questions you may have on that thread's contents would be best addressed here.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2018, 07:55 AM   #11
Slwagner73
Supporting Member
United States

Slwagner73 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bellevue, MI
Posts: 9
Well, I am still lost. I have checked, rechecked, erased and started over, and still nothing.
I have checked the IP address, made sure I can see everything in RSLink, made sure the controller was addressed in CCW correctly, and still I get the address is zero error.
Is there anywhere I could send copies of the programs to see if maybe someone could see just what I have FUBARed?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2018, 08:48 AM   #12
thingstodo
Member
Canada

thingstodo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slwagner73 View Post
AustralIan:
Thanks for the reply.
On the HMI, I have version 4.013.
And the error messages I get are for every tag. "2ata Access Error for Alias "Okay to Run the Pump, Controller PLC1, Address is PLC1:MainProgram.Okay_To_Run_Bit, Communication Flag is 0. And it is the same for all of the Tags.
As for the Studio5000 error:
For the Remote I-O, it is (Code 16#0204)Connection Request Error Connection Request Timed Out.
For the HMI error, (Code 16#0315) Connection Request Error: Invalid segment type.
I'm lost...
I'm a bit out of date on the Compactlogix in general, and Panelview stuff as well. Back in the day, you had to use Controller scoped tags (PLC1:Okay_To_Run_Bit), which all of the programs on the PLC, and anything else on communications could see. I don't remember being able to access tags in PLC1:MainProgram .... but that was years ago and things may have changed.

We are running ControlLogix now. Our panelviews are on ethernet and were current firmware when we put them in ... when we commissioned them but someone else programmed them ... and they read and write our tags in Controller Scope because that's always worked for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2018, 08:52 AM   #13
Maxkling
Member
United States

Maxkling is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 164
Put everything you got in a folder and zip it. The post as attachment.

Can you go over how everything is plugged into each other? Are you using a switch?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2018, 09:48 AM   #14
Slwagner73
Supporting Member
United States

Slwagner73 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bellevue, MI
Posts: 9
Well, even zipped, it says the file is too big to up load. Maybe I don't know how to correctly zip a file?
Scott
  Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2018, 09:09 PM   #15
bill4807
Member
United States

bill4807 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: michigan
Posts: 76
I just went through this. (Data access error)
I was using an L24er with a PV800.
Always had communications errors with a majority of my tags. They were configured properly. Called rockwell, no solution.
I ended up putting a relay from a PLC output to power ON the HMI. Because I noticed that whenever I restart the HMI on its own without powering down the PLC I got no messages..
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumb Question Tarheel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 June 27th, 2007 06:44 PM
Integrator Business Question mjrx LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 12th, 2007 05:37 AM
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way Ken Roach LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 March 26th, 2007 08:12 AM
Really Dumb question CroCop LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 November 19th, 2006 04:37 PM
1756-ENBT Yellow Question Mark Coachman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 9th, 2006 04:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


.