Rates for PLC Programming and HMI , and Commisioning

Rob S.

I have been asked by a engineering firm , that is shorthanded , to write a PLC program ,do a HMI application and commission a 20 tank fill and drain type system with recipes. They would like to have me quote the job first. I have never done this before. I have always worked for an manufacturing plant , and that was just my job. What is the rate for programmers , and how do I allow for unseen issues ?
It don't sound too difficult , but I really need to wrap my head around it. I don't want to probe too much , because they may think that I am really interested. I am really busy with my employer projects now .

Thanks so much , in advance , for your advice.

$175.00/hr for programming & 59.00/hr for service; with the automotive industry in the Detroit area things cost more.

Also for a quote, you have to figure a good estimate of programming & build times, with times for installation & troubleshooting calculated in, engineering changes (which happen almost every project) are billed separately.

$175.00/hr for programming & 59.00/hr for service; with the automotive industry in the Detroit area things cost more.

Also for a quote, you have to figure a good estimate of programming & build times, with times for installation & troubleshooting calculated in, engineering changes (which happen almost every project) are billed separately.

Wow, $175 USD for programming. No wonder I just lost two of my key guys to automotive for $$ we cannot match. We only charge $90/hr in food industry and still get low balled by companies charging $60/hr, and this is CAD$

It's business where one gets what one pays for, most of the time.
Steve says it best:
image.php

Wow, I haven't run into a programming rate that high in Detroit ever....till now. Congrats!

There are companies in the area that charge more, too.