Online status of STL code in Step 7

Outrage

Hi All,

I'm looking for some basic help on operating Step 7 Version 5.3. Ive connected to an S7-400 PLC on our ethernet network using the above software and can monitor the blocks. I'm not an STL programmer and am used to ladder and the blocks contain a mixture of STL and LAD. My question is:

when monitoring the LAD online the rungs turn green to indicate the power flow through the networks but how do I tell what the STL is doing? i.e. the status of the addresses in the STL. All I can see is the STL code which doesn't change in appearance wether i'm online or offline.

Sorry if this sounds a bit dense but my programming experience is with AB equipment and this Siemens stuff has always seemed a bit Alien!

Cheers,

Lee

For statment list, you need to look at two things, when dealing with boolean logic the RLO, when dealing with bytes, words etc the accumulators. There are other status bits but in general the RLO is the main.

These can be seen on the right of the STL code, sometimes its easier to move the boundary closer to the code, to ensure your lining the right things up.

The RLO is what decisions are made of and the logic sets or resets the RLO.

example

M 2.0 = Off
M 2.1 = On
M 2.2 = On
M 2.3 = Off

Code-----------RLO
A M 2.0_________0
A M 2.1_________0 (M 2.0 and M 2.1 are in series so M 2.1 has no effect)
O
A M 2.2_________1 (Its OR'd so the RLO becomes 1)
AN M 2.3________1
= M 2.4_________1 (RLO is '1' so M 2.4 turns ON)

example 2
M 2.0 = On
M 2.1 = On
M 2.2 = On
M 2.3 = On

Code-----------RLO
A M 2.0_________1
A M 2.1_________1
O
A M 2.2_________1
AN M 2.3________0
= M 2.4_________1 (RLO is still '1' as the previous result was OR'd so M 2.4 turns ON)

example 3
M 2.0 = Off
M 2.1 = On
M 2.2 = On
M 2.3 = On

Code-----------RLO
A M 2.0_________0
A M 2.1_________0
O
A M 2.2_________1
AN M 2.3________0
= M 2.4_________0 (RLO is '0' so M 2.4 turns OFF)