How to use a PIDE loop to verify simulation

Remember81

Ok, so first let me say I am a complete beginner, so I probably will misuse some words but bear with me. How do I use an Enhanced PID block to simulate values to verify that it is working? background info: its supposed to be a PID loop that open and closes a valve, but Im not too sure how to simulate this on RSLogix 5000

Simulation is for inputs

You generally wouldn't use a PID / PIDE block to to simulate, especially if the response that you're looking for is the result of a PID. Not saying that it's impossible, just not how I would approach it

The PID block monitors an analog input, and produces a 0-100% signal to drive an analog output (or the time-slice of a discrete input). In theory, you could reverse the concept, feeding another PID's output and using it to drive that other's PID's AI, by inhibiting the input module and writing to the Local:x.I address.

But there are other, perhaps better ways.

Method 1:
If you are only interested in checking if the valve opens when the AI goes high and closes when the AI goes low, then you can simply force the raw AI value (using either forces or inhibiting the I/O module). This gives you complete manual control, and you can simply enter in various numbers and watch the result.

This method can be modified to use internal registers and expose them to the HMI, and have an InSimulationMode bit that enables the logic and provides the end-user the ability to drive the simulation themselves. Handy for FAT.

Method 2:
If you want to get fancy, you can write some code that writes to the AI address. I typically build an AOI that can be configured to work with fairly complex responses.

It's based on the equation
Code:
        (PV + k[sub]a[/sub]*PV[sub]a[/sub] + k[sub]b[/sub]*PV[sub]b[/sub] + k[sub]c[/sub]*PV[sub]c[/sub] .... )
PV' =   ---------------------------------------
              (1 + k[sub]a[/sub] + k[sub]b[/sub] + k[sub]c[/sub] .....)
where