Ethernet help on PanelView Plus to PC communications

Hi,

I am trying to set up the ethernet communications from my PC to a PanelView Plus 1000. I have installed RSView Studio, and all components. But, I am not experienced with ethernet protocols, I have always used DF1 and other serial connections on SLC 500's, panelviews, etc. Can anyone guide me through the process? I have been using RS linx CLassic initially to see if I can see the PV as a node, no luck. Using the file transfer utility I do not see the PV either, just an enternally browsing ethernet driver. I am missing something. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve G in Sacramento

Welcome Steve,

The first key is making sure that your PC and the PV+ can even see each other over the ethernet network. Forget about RSLinx for the time being.

We need to know what IP address and subnet mask your computer is using and then what the PV+ is using.

Also, how are you connecting them together. Are you going through a switch or connecting directly from the PC to the PV+?

OG