IO-Link A market survey

No income tax, no capital gains tax. Freedom!
I am interested in how many of you use IO-Link.
I would like to know what the application is
Your view of the availability of products.
Ease of implementation
Performance.

We see a trend, maybe, to replace analog inputs and outputs with IO-Link. Yes, digital I/O too but mostly I am interested in the efforts to replace analog outputs.

We have had two high mucky-mucks from Parker and Siemens come by and IO-Link seemed to be a common I/O at the actuator level. If I do a google search for IO-Link you can see Parker and Siemens show up on the first page.
Actually, I think this is a good idea but as an old stick-in-the-mud engineer I wonder about how real it is.

I can remember ignoring GM's MAP and Rockwell's ControlNet and being glad I did.

BTW, the Siemens guy was really promoting Profinet RT, IRT, Profidrive and Safety. That is a lot of software and certifying.
Thanks for any info you can provide.

Personally, I've added IOLink as a mandatory replacement for analog devices if available to the build specifications for two automotive manufacturers. I tend to be an early adopter
(sometimes with disastrous results, haha), but analog was a pain when you could hire good maintenance. With the quality of help these days, I'm sold on IOLink.
Siemens seems to be supporting it enthusiastically, which surprises me. I figured they'd stay with ASi.

We have used IO-Link at one of our clients, Food & Bev / Dairy site.

They had a heap of old Profibus temperature transmitters (10+ all in a similar location on a pasteuriser) and the Profibus transmitters when failed would cost $1500+ to replace, and were a pain in the *** to address.

Replaced all of the transmitters with IFM IO-Link style, and added 2x IFM 8-port IO link masters over Ethernet/IP to a AB CLX PLC.