Siemens HMI, TIA portal programming

samvivi7

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hey Guys,

To all the Siemens experts. I am tasked with programming a TP1200 HMI. I am new to TIA portal and Siemens HMI programming. Well, i need help and guidance in order to do the following;

1 - I would like to create my push buttons/indicator lights in Photoshop or outside TIA. How do I bring them into TIA?? or is this even possible ??

2 - I would like to make a motor positioning indicator 0 - 360 degree and tie it to the motor encoder. My main question here is, do I need to make an image of each increment for example 1 °, 2 °, 3° and so on (360 images)?? where do I even start?

I would really appreciate if someone could point me in the correct direction.

I will post my progress as I go along.

Thank you,
Sam

2 - I would like to make a motor positioning indicator 0 - 360 degree and tie it to the motor encoder. My main question here is, do I need to make an image of each increment for example 1 °, 2 °, 3° and so on (360 images)?? where do I even start?
On number two you start by not doing it.
Animated HMIs are harder to use and in general you want to avoid animating things.

If you want to show that something is rotating, make a circular arrow instead. If you want to show how many degrees, show it in degrees instead.

Last edited:
1) doing the art externally and bringing it in is typical, although Portal does come with a fair bit of art besides the horrible symbol factory stuff. There is an Image object for simply displaying pictures, buttons can show pictures, and i think symbolic IO fields can display graphic lists.

2) Pete is right, in most cases it isn't a good idea to animate rotation on an HMI.

HOWEVER, if you want to, what you suggested is where to start, although every 1 degree is probably a little much. Every fifteen degrees is usually plenty. Then in Portal, you create a graphics list, assigning the range of degrees to the picture.