How does the PLC get feedback?

kalimoto1

Hi guys, I'm relatively new to the Automation field, and I hope to pursue my career in this field.

In Ladder Logic programming, we can specify the O/P Address an Output to an Input switch. If the O/P is ON, the switch will turn ON (if it's Normally Open). So IN RELAITY, how is this made possible? Is there a feedback circuit connected from the O/P to the I/P to know the status of the O/P?

And, also, I'm confused with I/P and O/P devices. Some say that Switches are I/P as well as O/P, and relays are I/P as well as O/P. Are external field devices like Motors direct O/Ps of a PLC? :unsure:

"???"
I believe that you may want to purse a career in management or maybe politics.

Please forgive me I have a limited understanding of the written word.

Last edited:
So IN REALITY, how is this made possible?
I think the situation you describe is like the attached picture. How can a PLC Output also be used in a different place as a rung Input?

The reason it can is that the PLC works with memory locations. Each memory location can have data "put in" or written, or it can have data "taken out" or read.

In the first rung 000, I used the OTE (Output Energize) to write a value to PLC memory location O:2/0.

But in the second rung 001, I used the XIC instruciton to read a value that was already in the PLC memory location O:2/0.

This method was originally an emulation of an electro-mechanical relay. The "---( )---" OTE simulates the electro-magnetic coil of a relay "O:2/0". The "---| |---" XIC instruction simulates the contact blocks for the same relay. In other words, the coil and contact are two parts of the same relay device.

You might say that the feedback circuit is built-in, because the instructions use the same memory address (which has the same value, no matter WHICH instruction addresses that value).

And, also, I'm confused with I/P and O/P devices. Some say that Switches are I/P as well as O/P, and relays are I/P as well as O/P.