Protecting I/O

godfrey

After years of starting up PLC controls as a field engineer, I have taken a position as a plc controls designer. I have been copying past company designs as a template but I don't want to be a lemming into the sea. I'm looking for personal experience on how best to terminate I/O in my cabinets. Presently I use unfused terminal blocks for 24 vdc digital inputs. 24 vdc relay outputs are used to power interposing relays. I use fused terminal blocks for analog I/O (4-20). The analog inputs are sometimes loop powered from my cabinet. The rest are powered by the field device. The field devices are mostly valve actuators (open/close and modulating), blowers and pumps, and water analyzers in municipal water treatment plants. Are fuses necessary on analog I/O? What are the comparisons of triac output vs. relay out in driving interposing relays? What is your experience?

I work 90% in the municipal market, mostly wastewater. The most common "mistake" I see on designs from consulting firms is over specifying. There is no pat answer to your question - to me the essence of good engineering is to apply general principals to specific problems and come up with the best solution for the criteria and constraints of each design.

I'm not sure about water treatment plants, but I know wastewater treatment plants are notoriously prone to lightning and surges. They are also generally maintained by under-qualified or at least under motivated staff.