Downloading the program from a PLC to a PC

Lou

Hi!

Before asking my question, i'd like to put myself in context. I'm a student (I already said it in a previous post, but I'll say it again anyways), currently doing an internship in a moldings factory. I study industrial computer science (real-time programming, communications, artificial vision and robotics, mostly). I had one course on PLC programming, where we used Allen-Bradley PLCs. So to speak, I'm "familiar" with ladder logic, but still quite a rookie, as the field I'm most comfortable with is PC programming.

School offered to find internships for us, but if we found them ourselves we earned extra credits, so that's what i did.

The project I'm working on is fairly simple :I have to reprogram 3 Mitsubishi PLCs so that the data processing is made by a PC. The PLCs are connected to MTA-250 HMIs. All of the PC programming is relatively easy for me, but when it comes to the PLCs and HMIs...

So I've read quite a lot on Mitsubishi PLCs and HMIs (thanks to Panic Mode and Dariusch for extra help), had a list of all the I/O, made my grafcet, now I'm finally ready to start getting my hands dirty... But I can't seem to communicate with my PLC... I connect to it by using the printer/programming port of the HMI (that's what I read in the manuals), but whenever I plug my serial cable, the computer freezes. I've tried both straight and null-modem RS-232 cables, switching the HMI from RUN to PROG and from PROG to RUN, but the computer always freezes.

I'd really appreciate if someone could help me a little, because there's no one in my company to help me (the guy who made the system in the first place was a consultant and just won't come). I guess that's the price for the extra credits...

Thank you all!

Lou

Hi Lou,

Make sure the Mitsubishi software version you use is compatible with the operating system of your computer. I have seen this happen on my computer (Win XP pro) in applications that are not WinXP compatible.