Ripping a password from a s7-300

Dryhops

We have a piece of used equipment we are recomissioning that I need to find a password for. The defaults that the OEM sent us are not working.

I only have experience with AB controllers, so this is my first attempt at working with a Siemens controller. After a lot of jumping through hoops, I finally got S7 professional installed and stumbled my way through the archaic connection process to access the project files on the S7-300.

My understanding of the program organization on Siemens controllers is limited, so I'm actively reading the docs, but hopefully someone here can steer me in the right direction.

There is both a username and a password. My first though would be that the credentials are stored in one of the data blocks (DBXX). I only found one string reference. I tried it both for the user name and password, as well as permutations with the credentials that the OEM gave me - no dice.

I've seen some references to SFC blocks, as built in functions of the OS. I cannot view these blocks online. Is authentication a protected function that the OS provides? Or it the password likely stored in the user program somewhere? Could the password instead be located in a byte array, or different data type?

Any other ideas where I should try looking?

Didn't mention in my OP, sorry. We need to configure alarm settings for the system. The username and password are entered via the HMI. A Siemens DESIGN TP177A

No I don't have any of the original project, is this something I can pull from the HMI?

Basically all I have is the software and a Programming cable.

Last edited: