RSLogix5000 Online Edit - Add Timer

Secpcb

I'm new to RSLogix 5000, been using 5 & 500 for years, and have a question about online edits before I screw up the equipment.

Doing an online edit, can a new timer tag be added to add a new time delay on to an input? I know a rung and items can be added but when I add a TON, it says there isn't such a tag already, and there are no unused timer tags in the program.

I am used to 5 & 500 where you can add an unused timer that is already in the T4 file & been skipped but not create additional timers, ladders or files doing online edits if all the timers in the file are used.

you CAN create a new timer - even while you're in the Run mode ...

just give it a name (example: MY_TIMER) to create/assign/add the timer ... note that you can't have spaces in the name - so just use an UNDERSCORE character instead ...

Ron,

I did try that & it showed that the tag didn't exist. Probaly have to go into the tags & add it there first? That's what I didn't want to try if it was wrong & cause a problem with the running equipment - my boss wouldn't appreciate the downtime.

Right click on your tag and you should see an option like "Add new Your_Tag". Click on that to create that as a new tag. The next dialog that appears should default to the tag type known as "Timer" accept those settings and then try to verify again.

go see Ethel ...

Probaly have to go into the tags & add it there first?

no, it's easier than that ... see if this helps ...

TIP: if you do it this way you won't even have to worry about the spaces in the name ... the system will automatically add the UNDERSCORE characters for you ...

new_timer.PNG

Last edited:
I was afraid to go into the tags & create it there, just adding it at the timer instruction makes more sense.

well, you probably already understand this next part – but just to be sure: