You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 9th, 2011, 11:30 AM   #1
tjoneill
Member
United States

tjoneill is offline
 
tjoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 55
Micrologix to pv 1000 w/controlnet

Hello again all,
I have a micrologix 1500 that I would like to add a Panelview 1000 2711-T10C15 too ( The Panelview is just an old one we have sitting around). Now, if I use the RS232 port on the PV using the 2711-NC21 cable to connect to the processor, does it matter what protocol the pv is? Is this possible? If so, is their anything else I should need to know?
Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 11:57 AM   #2
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,147
The RS232 port on your PV is for uploading/downloading it's program or it can to set for printer use. It cannot be used for communication with your PLC.

The ML1500 does not support Controlnet.
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 12:10 PM   #3
tjoneill
Member
United States

tjoneill is offline
 
tjoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 55
The Comm's cable is a RS232 operating cable Panelview to Micrologix & AIC+. It uses the RS232 port on the Panelview, thats why I thought it would work.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RE: RSLogix 500 Starter for 10pt Micrologix 1000 MadMaxx LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 April 12th, 2009 10:39 PM
Micrologix 1000 & Panel View 300 Micro Control Issues LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 10th, 2008 11:14 PM
AB PV 1000 Can Communicate But No Display aidamcg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 13th, 2008 06:43 AM
Micrologix 1500 to PV 1000e VRBASGRAD LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 November 7th, 2006 11:02 PM
Micrologix 1500 and PV 550 protoss_003 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 18th, 2003 04:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


.