Using Excel and DDE to collect data

SilverLoop

I was wondering if anyone could me started on using Excel and DDE to collect data, plot it, and then archive some of the data. I know this is a broad subject and I will be getting some specifications at a later point but I am new to this application of Excel and am trying to shorten the learning curve. Is it necessary to purchase a third-party product to do these things with Excel or can it just be done with VBA and/or DDE scripting?

Thank you!

This is assuming that the 'data' is coming from some PLC system (else why post at this site?) Each PLC system has their method of communication (protocol) using various media (RS-232, Ethernet etc). There must be some program on the PC which knows how to 'speak' to the PLC using its protocol and media.

This program can be supplied by the PLC maker (as in the advanced levels of RSLinx for Allen-Bradley) or by a 'third party'. This program must be DDE capable (DDE being an older method of communication between Windows programs). Once it is in place and connected appropriately to the PLC system then Excel can make DDE calls to this program and get the needed information.

So, once you know the PLC system and the method of communication you can staart looking for this in-between program. I hope this little bit of information helps.

Yes, this will be a system in which an Allen Bradley plc is sending data to a pc. So in that way I'm sure that RSLinx will be the I/O server. I am mainly wondering what to do from the Excel side of things in terms of pointing it at the data that is coming in real-time.

If you are using DDE then the Excel script itself will set the frequency of data aquisition (and won't be incredibly fast, DDE is not known for its speed). RSLinx will just react to each request, get the data, and send it back to Excel. Your script will have to send the information to various cells and/or to files as appropriate. I can't help you with that part though.