Calculate time A program or job has ran | Factory Talk View

cschlue

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Factory talk but I have been an IT Administrator and Hobbyist Programmer for the last few years and recently started a position where one of my duties is programming Factory Talk HMI's with Fanuc Robotic Cells.

Right now most of the applications they have running do not seem to calculate time a job has ran accurately, and it seems like a fairly inefficient way to complete the task.

Basically right now the way they have it setup is they have a macro that simply checks what job is currently active and adds 1 to a variable for storing how long the job has ran for.

So every 900ms the macro runs and adds 1 to the variable, then that value is divided by 60 to calculate minutes.

So i'm curious if theirs a way to take the local time of the touch panel machine, store that in a variable and track the current time, and then display the difference in time.

IE: the job started at 1:00pm and its now 1:30pm and the job is still running so we know the job has been running for 30 minutes.

I'm assuming this would have to be done through a macro, and would probably be best done through a VBScript?

It sounds like the the current method is introducing some indeterminate amount of error for the macro execution interval every second. I'm not surprised it's inaccurate.

Is this a FactoryTalk View SE or ME system ? Are there some Rockwell Automation controllers as well as the GE Fanuc robots ?

Macros and VB routines have their place, but I strongly prefer to handle time and events through the programmable controller.

We're Using Factory Talk ME, And from what i understand they're only using the pmc's for the fanuc robots, I'm not a robotic automation guy so i'm not entirely sure what limitations that would cause.