You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 14th, 2018, 03:59 AM   #1
Mikeve12
Member
Netherlands

Mikeve12 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 17
IO link and RSlogix 5000

Hello everyone,

I am trying to connect an IO link module to an Allen Bradley PLC. I am very new to the software and am trying to figure out how to add the module to my IO configuration.

The module is a 3rd party IO module and the PLC that I am using is an Allen Bradley 1769-L32E CompactLogix5332E Controller. The software I am using to program is RSLogix 5000.

I figured out the steps of how to add a 3rd party module but I am unable to do so in the software that I am using. Is this because of the software version or because of the PLC?

Thank you for your attention and I hope you will be able to help me with this!
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2018, 04:18 AM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,264
Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

Exactly what manufacturer and model of IOLink device are you using ?

A 1769-L32E controller will run v20 firmware (and RSLogix 5000) at the highest, so it's possible that your vendor has an "add on profile" or other feature that is only available with v21 and up.

The basic way to connect third party devices is as a "Generic Ethernet Module", which is a technique that goes back 8 years or more.

Your IOLink device vendor should have instructions for how to connect their device and configure it as a "Generic Ethernet Module" in the I/O tree of the CompactLogix controller.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2018, 04:51 AM   #3
Mikeve12
Member
Netherlands

Mikeve12 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

Exactly what manufacturer and model of IOLink device are you using ?

A 1769-L32E controller will run v20 firmware (and RSLogix 5000) at the highest, so it's possible that your vendor has an "add on profile" or other feature that is only available with v21 and up.

The basic way to connect third party devices is as a "Generic Ethernet Module", which is a technique that goes back 8 years or more.

Your IOLink device vendor should have instructions for how to connect their device and configure it as a "Generic Ethernet Module" in the I/O tree of the CompactLogix controller.
Hi Ken,

It is an Impact67 E DIO12 DIO4/IOL4 4P by MurrElektronik.
They do not have a guide on how to install this module on Allen Bradley using EtherNet/IP.

Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2018, 07:39 AM   #4
gtsuport
Member
United States

gtsuport is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,138
Please see the links below.
These files should help you properly configure the 55144 module.





Manuals

https://shop.murrelektronik.com/en/I...Page=10&pos=1#


Configuration Files (eds)

https://shop.murrelektronik.com/en/I...Page=10&pos=1#


Software Tools
https://shop.murrelektronik.com/en/I...Page=10&pos=1#
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2018, 07:43 AM   #5
Mikeve12
Member
Netherlands

Mikeve12 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsuport View Post
Please see the links below.
These files should help you properly configure the 55144 module.





Manuals

https://shop.murrelektronik.com/en/I...Page=10&pos=1#


Configuration Files (eds)

https://shop.murrelektronik.com/en/I...Page=10&pos=1#


Software Tools
https://shop.murrelektronik.com/en/I...Page=10&pos=1#
The software I'm using doesn't accept the EDS files, I have tried adding them through the RSlink software but it doesn't show up in the RSLogix 5000 software.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2018, 10:54 AM   #6
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: barranquilla
Posts: 2,595
Mike:

I guess that you already have a IO Master connected to your PLC like this:
https://www.ifm.com/us/en/category/0...=EtherNet%2FIP
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2018, 12:20 PM   #7
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by widelto View Post
Mike:

I guess that you already have a IO Master connected to your PLC like this:
https://www.ifm.com/us/en/category/0...=EtherNet%2FIP
The part number that he listed is an I/O link master, no additional hardware should be needed.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2018, 12:23 PM   #8
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeve12 View Post
The software I'm using doesn't accept the EDS files, I have tried adding them through the RSlink software but it doesn't show up in the RSLogix 5000 software.
Be more specific on "the software I am using".

http://literature.rockwellautomation...m002_-en-d.pdf

You should be loading your EDS file from logix 5000 not linx. See section 5.1 in the murr manual, it outlines exactly what you need to do to install the EDS and add the AOP to your I/O config.

Last edited by _Dock_; September 14th, 2018 at 12:27 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2018, 01:09 PM   #9
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 233
Use the EDS Hardware Installation Tool in Rs Logix 5000 software to install the EDS file for your i/o master.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 01:55 AM   #10
Mikeve12
Member
Netherlands

Mikeve12 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dock_ View Post
Be more specific on "the software I am using".

http://literature.rockwellautomation...m002_-en-d.pdf

You should be loading your EDS file from logix 5000 not linx. See section 5.1 in the murr manual, it outlines exactly what you need to do to install the EDS and add the AOP to your I/O config.
I found the module in the RSlink software, and I added the EDS files to the module, but when I open the RSLogix 5000 I can't find the module in the list of components.

Sorry for the late reply, I was off during the weekend
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 05:18 AM   #11
pal
Member
United Kingdom

pal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tilbury
Posts: 192
Mikeve12 , you need to tell use which version of logix 5000 - for instance the EDS installation tool is only available with v20 and greater . I am guessing that with the Compact L32E you may be using v17 or earlier ?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 05:24 AM   #12
Mikeve12
Member
Netherlands

Mikeve12 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by pal View Post
Mikeve12 , you need to tell use which version of logix 5000 - for instance the EDS installation tool is only available with v20 and greater . I am guessing that with the Compact L32E you may be using v17 or earlier ?
It is using v19.

Is there a way I can import the EDS differently or a way to define the module in the program itself?

Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2018, 10:34 AM   #13
pal
Member
United Kingdom

pal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tilbury
Posts: 192
You have add a generic enet module to your I/O tree and fill in the data needed manually , I'm afraid I'm not familiar with this process but hope some of the real experts on this forum can help further.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rslogix 5000 Professional Download nmurray LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 10th, 2017 07:17 PM
How to access other ASIC registers in Rslogix 5000? csjokerd1123 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 18th, 2017 02:48 AM
Matlab link to RsLogix 5000 princedx LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 May 11th, 2015 05:08 AM
RSLogix 5000 and RIO Fundamentals. antsrealm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 15th, 2013 12:43 AM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 11:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


.