micrologix 1200, G3 HMI, Crimson, ArchestrA via ethernet...OPCWorx?

matt_2008

Hi,

Complete newbie, just trying to understand whether something is possible. Don't eat me.

I have a machine with a micrologix 1200 PLC controlled via a Red Lion G310 panel using RS232 serial over modbus. The G310 has an ethernet port.

The G310 is programmed using Crimson software. The plant wide ArchestrA SCADA is not currently networked to the G310 and operators can only adjust this machine's settings at the panel itself.

My understanding is that ArchestrA has an OPC UA client option and the ArchestrA IDE can be used to connect to an OPC server to get tag data.

My question is can OPCWorx be used to configure the G3 to operate as an OPC server and hence expose the G3's database for control via the ArchestrA SCADA?

Thanks heaps.

The ML1200 is quite an old beast now. How many I/O cards? It might be easier and cheaper to replace it with a Micrologix 1100 or 1400 and simply connect Archestra to it via Ethernet. You can either use modbus TCP or the ABCIP driver within Archestra to read / write the same registers the Red Lion is looking at.

Otherwise you'll have to try and map between the Red Lion MLX tags and ones you expose to Archestra. I haven't tried this but i can see it being complex.

If you read/write the same registers from the panel and the scada then there's only one source of data

Haha, yes agreed regarding the it being old. I agree with you regarding replacing the PLC.

However, management are looking for other options for reasons of uptime, cost impact, new plc=bad plc etc. (we actually have 9 of these machines in a high volume low margin business and they are critical for economics). Hence I am looking at different solutions out there with the kit we have on hand right now.

Agreed regarding the registers concern. Makes one slightly uncomfortable.