Help with Panelview CompactLogix Please

Can anyone point me to an example of a CompactLogix - Panelview program. This is my first attempt programming Panelview and/or CompactLogix. This whole "Tag Name" concept is new to me and I'm getting hit with a double whammy.

I was able to copy the sample program in the Panelview QuickStart manual using my Panelview 900 (2711 T9A5) and a SLC 5/04. I just typed exactly what I read; can't say I learned much.

I can't find a similar tutorial for the Panelview and the CompactLogix. I would be happy with a simple basic example. Something like 0ne button on the Panelview. Press the button and see a bit change in the CompactLogix. When a bit changes in CompactLogix see a change on the Panelview.

As I mentioned earlier I have a 2711-T9A5 (RS232-DH485) and a CompactLogix 5330. I'm using RSLogix 5000 v.11, although I have access to different versions.

Has anyone used a Panelview and Compactlogix together? Have you seen an example of the two in a manual? Can it even be done?

Thank you for any help you can offer;

Frank

More help Please.

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/uploads/4.jpg[/img
[img]http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/uploads/5.jpg[/img

I'm still trying to connect a panelview 900 to a compactlogix 5330. Can it even be done? Does it matter which firmware the panelview is running? I have FRM 3.30.

The Panelbuilder32 Quickstart Guide does not show an example of Tag Addressing for Compactlogix. It gives a slew of other examples but not Compactlogix.

If I successfully uploaded two images, you should be able to see what my problem is. When I try to verify the panelbuilder project, I get an error about the tag address being wrong. The Tag address is PV_PB_0. If I use tag address "b3:0/0", the project verifies okay.

You can see (hopefully) that I have selected Compactlogix as the PLC on node 1.

I've been following links that others have suggested but none of those links show an actual PV/Compactlogix situation.