Honeywell HC900 questions

juzeko

I am an engineering student and I'm new to the Honeywell HC900 system. I have an assignment to create adaptive control with a reference model and then test it on a laboratory model. I have a few questions regarding this subject.

1. Is it possible to change the cycle rate in HC900? I am aware of the normal and fast scans but could I put a custom cycle rate?

2.Could someone explain me the execution order and the cycle rate. (Does it mean if I have, for example, a cycle rate of 1 second and 2 function blocks, that after 0.5 sec block with execution order 1 will have calculated values on output and after 1 sec second block will have output too or at the end of cycle time the output is put at the same time on both blocks?)

3.How do I write the transfer function which I need for the reference model in Hybrid Control Designer? (I have some ideas with sumator blocks, but I need a better understanding of the above mentioned question, taking into account me needing outputs in steps y(k), y(k-1)..... )

4.Is it possible to write a recursive algorithm based on a vector of previous values? (to allocate some space in memory for writing previous values and calculate new ones for parameter identification (to mention a few examples)).

5.Is HC900 a PLC or is it a hybrid controller? What is the difference?

6.Are there any lessons or tutorials for hc900 available for download? Why is there almost nothing about this controller?(nobody uses it or what?)

THX!

Last edited:
1) You can only select from one of two rates for discretes, fast or normal. Analog inputs and outputs are processed at a rate of twice per second (technically every 512 mA, I believe). There is no selection for any analog scan rate other than that.