You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 17th, 2020, 04:17 PM   #1
mylespetro
Supporting Member
Canada

mylespetro is offline
 
mylespetro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NS
Posts: 257
Powerflex 525 F080 Autotune Failure anomaly?

Hey everyone, ran into a strange issue trying to autotune a motor using a PF525. For context, there's an enclosure with two 525s in it, controlling two motors with identical nameplate data:

575V, 60Hz, 3HP, 3.44A, 1720RPM

We went to run a Static Tune on Motor A through Drive A and we got fault F080 - Autotune failure. After checking the troubleshooting section of the manual, it said either the start command was interrupted or the autotune actually failed. After double checking that we weren't losing our start input (we were jumpering +24VDC from terminal 11 directly to terminal 2 and didn't pull it off), and trying the autotune several times, we kept getting the same fault. Afterwards we ran the Static Tune on Motor B through Drive B and it went off without a hitch. After doing a resistance test of the windings in addition to meggering the motors (11 ohms on all 3 windings on both motors, 550Mohm on the megger on both motors), and thinking about how to narrow down the cause, we swapped the motor leads on the two drives so that Motor A was connected to Drive B and vice versa. We then ran the Static Tune on Motor A (which was failing the autotune) through Drive B and it completed the autotune successfully, while the Static Tune on Motor B through Drive A returned the same F080 fault again. We double checked that the parameters were all the same on both (motor NP data etc), and everything was the same across both. Anyone have any idea why one drive would fail an autotune on multiple motors that another drive were able to successfully autotune? We do have a spare 3HP drive so we're going to try swapping the power section out tomorrow and see if that works, and if not we're going to try swapping out the control module as well. Is it unreasonable to assume that there's an issue with the drive out of the box? The only other thing I can come up with if it's not the drive is some strange wiring issue that is causing an induced voltage in a conductor or something like that.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2020, 10:51 PM   #2
alan_505
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

alan_505 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia
Posts: 643
If both motors tune OK through drive B and both motors don't tune through drive A, then I would suspect that drive A has some sort of issue and would need changing, it could be either the power or control module.


Alan.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2020, 10:05 AM   #3
mylespetro
Supporting Member
Canada

mylespetro is offline
 
mylespetro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NS
Posts: 257
Swapped the power module and it autotuned successfully. Not sure what the issue was, will contact my local AB drive rep and see if he’s seen the issue before.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerflex 525 PID Controll for a Pump in a Hot Water Set travisroberts88 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 November 10th, 2017 07:24 PM
MicroLogix to Powerflex 525 via Ethernet lam2363 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 28th, 2015 03:35 PM
RSLogix 5000 and Powerflex 525. Elcan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 28th, 2014 11:38 AM
Powerflex 525 Multidrive issues Teglaco LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 14th, 2014 12:57 PM
PowerFlex 525 Open Loop Metering Pump Control Help shiftedbits LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 1st, 2014 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 AM.


.