You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 21st, 2018, 12:55 PM   #1
lunenburger
Member
Canada

lunenburger is offline
 
lunenburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Halifax
Posts: 91
Can't get PIDE to use Controller Scoped tags in version 30

Has anyone had an issue adding a PIDE instruction to a Function Block sheet in Studio Version 30?
I have created a controller scoped PID_ENHANCED tag and then added a PIDE to my function block page, usually in earlier versions of Studio I could copy the controller scoped tag into the tag tab of the PIDE instruction and it would use the controller scoped tags.

Now in version 30 when i copy the controller scoped tag in, it automatically creates a new program scoped tag.
This is difficult to access with Factorytalk view.....
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2018, 05:33 PM   #2
Geoff White
Member
Australia

Geoff White is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 272
It automatically creates a new local tag for it but you can swap it out for a global scoped tag by using the drop down at the block tag name.

Also to access program scoped tags from FTV
use the {::[topic]Program:ProgramName.Tag} syntax
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2018, 07:03 PM   #3
lunenburger
Member
Canada

lunenburger is offline
 
lunenburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Halifax
Posts: 91
I didn't realize how easy it was to access the program tags from Factorytalk.
I checked with tech support and they said it was best to keep the program tags when using PID instructions in function blocks and not use controller tags...
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick comparison of PID, PIDE, and PI instructions in RSLogix5000 ... Ron Beaufort LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 June 7th, 2018 01:24 PM
Citect Vs WinCC - Long Doug_Adam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 October 3rd, 2014 12:56 PM
Studion 5000 Version 21 UDT Sort Tags BMLLER6758 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 24th, 2013 07:15 AM
Can View Tags on One Version of 5000 but not the other Version showshocka LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 16th, 2012 01:50 PM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 05:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


.