First PLC, requesting second set of eyes

stoubia

Hello all,

I am putting together my first PLC/automation design at a company I recently started working for. I'm a EE (just graduated, little experience) so I have some knowledge of electronics, but I'm more experienced with microcontrollers and haven't touched PLCs before. The machine itself is very simple and straightforward for the most part, but I have some questions when it comes to the I guess you could call common industry practices (fuses and circuit breakers, safety relays, emergency stop switch, terminal blocks etc.) I'll give an overview of my project below and try and give specific questions, hopefully somebody with plenty of experience can help me out here.

Function
Control a hydraulic cylinder for a press fit assembly operation

Main components

CLICK PLC :
  • CPU: C0-02DR-D link
  • 8 Relay In/Out: C0-08TR link
  • 8 DC Input: c0-08ND3 link
  • 24V, 1.3A PSU: C0-01AC link

Hydraulic Components:
1 Hydraulic power unit (Parker-Hannifin, 10A @ 120VAC, similar model: here )
1 3 position - 4 way solenoid (built into hydraulic power unit, solenoid A and B controlled by 120VAC. 1.90A In Rush, 0.42A Holding, 21W. 3 positions are forward, back, and crossfeed/cylinder lock whatever)
1 hydraulic cylinder (double acting)
1 pressure transmitter (noshok, 4-20 mA out, 24VDC, attached to supply port on cylinder to measure force being applied)

Switches, indicators, safety relays:
1 magnetic safety switch (door safety lock, supplier)
1 LED tower lights (already have them, going to use them even if there was something simpler. link)
2 momentary pushbuttons w/ 1 N.O. contact block each (two handed activation for hydraulic link)
1 twist-release pushbutton w/ N.C. contact block (for e-stop)
1 Illuminated 2-position N.O. selector switch (probably will use for on/off)
1 2-position key-operated N.O. selector switch (might use for some safety precaution instead/in addition to other on/off selector switch)