You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 17th, 2017, 12:39 PM   #1
MMMcLovin
Member
Canada

MMMcLovin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ontario
Posts: 19
Question Creating login accounts in factory talk to lock out screens?

I want to create a few different users, not windows users just my own. Is there a native way to do this without using windows users? Factory Talk Site Edition 8.1

Example:
User: Admin
Pass: Admin123
Access to all screens

User: Operator
Pass: Operator123
Access to only operator screens

Thanks in advance!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 01:03 PM   #2
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,147
Sure, you can create Factory Talk users instead of Windows Linked users.
Create factorytalk group and assign the correct permissions, should work just fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 01:09 PM   #3
MMMcLovin
Member
Canada

MMMcLovin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ontario
Posts: 19
How would I assign permissions? I have created a user and put that user in a group. But I don't see anything involving permissions.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 01:10 PM   #4
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,147
Look for the Runtime Security section(usually near the top of your project tree), Hit the security accounts buttons and add the groups. Then you can assign security codes. Use the codes to control visibility/access.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 02:22 PM   #5
MMMcLovin
Member
Canada

MMMcLovin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ontario
Posts: 19
Figured it out, thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory talk view SE 6.10 Login and Logout setup AutomationNewbie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 7th, 2015 10:43 AM
Problem with RSLinx Factory Talk Activation Coulombboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 22nd, 2012 03:29 AM
Factory Talk View ME, Where are my projects ? Thomas Slaetteke LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 August 25th, 2012 10:48 PM
PLC heartbeat to Factory Talk View SE hasan_ali LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 23rd, 2011 10:54 PM
Factory Talk View Studio v5.1 to v5.0 Incompatability bkfrodo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 2nd, 2011 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


.