You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 16th, 2004, 09:10 PM   #1
alphageek
Member
United States

alphageek is offline
 
alphageek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 14
AB SLC "Always on" status bit

Is there a status bit on SLCs which is always on (or off for that matter). If memory serves me, Mitsubishi has such a feature (though its been a long time).

I recognize (and use) that a pair of rungs, early in file 2 thus:

---------------------() Always On
AOn
-]/[-----------------() Always Off


... would (and does) solve the problem, but it feels a bit inelegant.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 09:29 PM   #2
93lt1
Member
United States

93lt1 is offline
 
93lt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 993
A SLC will allow a branch without an instruction, which will do what you are talking about.

It also seems inelegant.

The SLC is lacking the AFI (always false instruction), but the PLC5 and Controlgix do have it.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 10:22 PM   #3
ndzied1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ndzied1 is offline
 
ndzied1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,301
I usually have two rungs at the top of a program with comments to not change or remove them:


SHORT
----------------------------(L)----

OPEN
----------------------------(U)----



Throughout the program I use the OPEN as a placeholder and to "dummy" stuff out of the program. The SHORT can also be used as a placeholder or to branch around sections of rungs that you want to eliminate.
__________________
nOrM
======================
nOrM=Norman Dziedzic Jr.
"I decry the current tendency to seek patents on algorithms. There are better ways to earn a living than to prevent other people from making use of one's contributions to computer science." Donald Knuth
  Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 10:32 PM   #4
CaseyK
Member
United States

CaseyK is offline
 
CaseyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In the cornfields, on the prarie, outside Chi-Town, a few miles beyond the boondocks.
Posts: 1,731
Lightbulb

On extremely large programs (FANUC 9030), I would put an always on at the beginning of the rungs. During testing, startup, etc, I could toggle these to always off, if need be. Some times I left them in, but usually I would convert some to MCR functions and others would disapere with the "final" run program after starting and checking the machine.

I never considered them inelegant, just plain useful.

I was surprised to find that few people knew about them. Whenever I used them I always had to tell someone what they were.

regards.....casey
__________________
73 de casey nine eye aitch
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 01:26 AM   #5
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 12,978
Just to point out a subtle but important difference between the AFI instruction and inserting a contact that is OFF in the beginning of the rung.

From the help file:
Quote:
This input instruction disables its rung when inserted in the condition side of the rung. Use for debugging programs and for temporarily deactivating a rung that will be needed later.
This will disable scanning of the rung after the AFI instruction. If output is ON it will stay ON.
         condition     output
--[AFI]---||------------( )



This will scan the rung, and as the initial condition is "OFF" then it will set the output OFF in any case.
   OFF   condition     output
----||----||------------( )



To achieve "AFI" functionality in the SLC you have to jump past rungs that you want to deactivate.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 01:43 AM   #6
bobwithdana
Member
United States

bobwithdana is offline
 
bobwithdana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: california
Posts: 238
Always on ------------------------------------------(A )-

Always off ---|B|----|B\|---------------------------(B )-

Last edited by bobwithdana; December 17th, 2004 at 01:47 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 02:26 AM   #7
Gerry
Member
New Zealand

Gerry is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally posted by JesperMP
This will disable scanning of the rung after the AFI instruction. If output is ON it will stay ON.
         condition     output
--[AFI]---||------------( )



Not in my experience!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 03:23 AM   #8
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 12,978
Gerry, you are absolutely right.

Somehow it has crept into my memory that "AFI disables the rung" and I cannot clear this erronous information. So it pops up every now and then.
The information in the help file is simply wrong.
The name "Always False Instruction" is correct.

Thanks for pointing it out.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 04:06 AM   #9
Ken Moore
Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 2,325
Why have two bits? I use only one always false bit.
Then I can use either XIC or XIO instructions and get an always false or always true condition.

Ken
__________________
"To give real service you must add something that cannot be bought or measured with money; and that is sincerity and integrity."
- Donald A. Adams

  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 07:20 AM   #10
Allen Nelson
Member
United States

Allen Nelson is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 1,368
From the archives....

For those interested in "Always Off" bits and the AFI instruction, look at THIS POST BY RON BEAUFORT and the subsequent discussion
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 07:59 AM   #11
mmw
Member
United States

mmw is offline
 
mmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 91
I'm with Ken ... set up one bit and use xic and xio as required. 'Course if it's confusing that
not "always off" = "always on", then back away slowly from the code.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 09:20 AM   #12
Rick Densing
Member
United States

Rick Densing is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally posted by JesperMP
Somehow it has crept into my memory that "AFI disables the rung" and I cannot clear this erronous information. So it pops up every now and then.

The name "Always False Instruction" is correct.

Your quote from the help file doesn't say what you said.

You may be thinking of a dis-abled subroutine.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2004, 09:42 AM   #13
alphageek
Member
United States

alphageek is offline
 
alphageek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 14
Quote:
Why have two bits? I use only one always false bit.
For the ability to have two comments in the code to avoid (my) confusion.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2004, 04:26 AM   #14
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,121
Talking

I have always used an "always on" bit at the start of every rung. Two reasons
1) if you wish to add a bit to the start of the rung it is easy to move the whole lot right and not have to delete a number of horizontal line segments, draw in vertical lines etc.
2) When commissioning, it is very easy to turn the always on to always off by just putting a slash through it and this then disables the rung.

I am referring to Omron here and it is very easy to do point 2. Some software really makes life much more difficult.

You can also use an "always off" bit and put a slash through it. Same effect.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2004, 12:09 PM   #15
panic mode
Member
Canada

panic mode is offline
 
panic mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,962
personally i prefer to use 16-bit integers as group of 'debug'
bits and clear them all on first scan using FLL. this makes
testing much faster because you can simply toggle bit instead
if editing rung.

also, diferent rungs would have different bit so they are
independant (you can always have few rungs use same bit) and
they can have individual comments which makes things easier.
i use it often to enable new code when testing outcome on
running machine. if the new code doesn't perform as expected,
toggle bit back and let them run old veresion until new one
is working as expected.

things that are permanent have their debug bit removed and
if you forget to set something back, it's enough to power down
machine to disable tested code. next time you are working on
something it's easy to see what is not finished by looking
for used debug bits.

one thing i really don't like about AFI is that it is instruction
and not tag. this makes search very tedious (have to change dozen
setting in Find which takes blody ages). the guy who invented AFI
should be shot, dragged by a racing car and then beaten with an
ugly stick...

but then again, that's just how i feel about it

Last edited by panic mode; December 19th, 2004 at 12:12 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB SLC 5/05 Ethernet MSG Errors mrdegold LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 January 20th, 2009 12:10 PM
10 Bit Encoder Decoder/ GE90-30 Control Freak LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 July 12th, 2005 11:28 AM
AB CTC units..with 2 SLC 5/04 DH+ Russ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 15th, 2004 04:02 PM
AB: RTO timer - TT bit status vs. TON GJM LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 October 9th, 2004 07:02 AM
Ab SLC FLOAT to Double Int Conversion wirehead LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 March 29th, 2003 09:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


.