Increment Increase/Decrease Voltage Output

moregan0

Hi all,

First time poster here. I have a challenge to figure out in order to earn an internship position with a sensor company:

I am to write some plc logic to incrementally increase an output voltage from 0 to 5 volts in 0.1V increments, and then decrease by 0.1 V from 5V back to 0V, 100 times before cycle reset.

I have an idea to use counters for each cycle and timers to space the incremental increases/decreases, however I am lacking knowledge on the necessary analog programming commands to have the voltages rise and fall by the desired amounts of 0.1V.

I am still a beginner at this (two quarters at technical college in PLC systems and HMIs).

Here's what I have so far:

T:4/0 - T4/10, 0.25 second intervals for each increment, 0 to 5V.
T:4/11 - T:4/20, 0.25 second intervals for each decrement, 5 to 0V. (each timer's done bit activates the rung of the next timer in a cascading sequence)
T:4/20/DN activates C:5/0 (counting to 100)
C:5/0/DN activates the reset.

What kind of command do I need to use in conjunction with each timer (T:4/0 - T:4/20) in order to charge an output for a specified voltage value?

Any direction helps! Thanks :D

Last edited:
I an not familiar with Direct Soft programming, but you would need to use something like a move instruction put a value into the analog output card's register.

Do you have the analog card?

Alan

I haven't used that software either, so can't help you with the analog side of it, but consider doing this with one timer and no counters.

Each time the timer completes it would perform some math to work out the next voltage level, and if required increment the cycle count, then reset itself and go again.

Just a tip - that approach is likely to put you in far better stead than using 20 timers :)