HOW TO: Create a Web-Based HMI (Siemens/RedLion)

haganwalker

Hey guys,

The TL;DR is the last two paragraphs with a web link for you to try yourself. If you don't have anything better to do, look at the attached picture of the website that is being hosted ON A PLC!!

I'm not sure if this will help anyone or not, but perhaps some of you want a mobile HMI that you can pull up on an ipad or some other mobile device to check things on the go. I'm an intern at a brick plant in Columbus, Mississippi installing vision systems on robotics, etc...and this was a task that my boss gave me. This will work for sure with the Siemens 1200/1500 PLCS and Red Lion hardware with Crimson 3.

The requirements from my boss:

Access PLCs remotely to monitor values.
Log PLCs values on a yearly basis to note trends, see repetitive errors, etc.
Wireless capabilities
Authenticated login
iPad Native (for use while walking around the plant)

So I've never done any of this before. I've never written in HTML, PHP, JavaScript, or CSS3...but I can tell you that I learned all I needed to know in a coding extravaganza this weekend.

First things first...get yourself Dreamweaver or something comparable to do your web editing. Also, how I'll be proceeding is detailing the process using a Red Lion ProducTVity Station.

FOR THE SIEMENS PEOPLE...in the Siemens TIA Portal V11+, simply go to "Device Configuration > Web server > General > Activate web server on this module". Under "User-defined Web pages", you'll then point to your HTML directory and the default page you'd like to use. Click "Generate blocks" and finally, enable the web server by creating a new WWW Function Block with the CTRL_DB pointing to 333 (default) and I just made RET_VAL #RET_VAL. Go to a browser, type in the IP of your 1200/1500...and go to user pages. Everything should be working.

Moving forward.