Micrologix 1000

eyespyral

I am new to PLCs and have recently purchased a Micrologix 1000 (1761-L10BWA Series F). I have downloaded the RSLogix 500 and RSLinx Lite software from the Rockwell site, but am unable to establish communication between my PC and the Micrologix. I am using a 1761-CBL-PM02 cable for peer-to-peer communication using the DF1 driver, and I have set all the communication parameters correctly (the nodes match as well). My problem occurs when I try to go online; a message is displayed saying "Target node is not an SLC-500 or Micrologix controller". What am I missing? Can anyone help me? Thanx.

Last edited:
when you try the "Autoconfigure" button in the RSLinx DF1 configuration screen (as Jiri suggested), what message do you get? ... "successful" or something else? ...

can you see the MicroLogix processor when you browse RSLinx? ... if the answer is "yes" then the next question is: how are you trying to "go online"? ... the most reliable way is to go to the main menu at the top of the RSLogix500 screen ... click "Comms" ... then "Who Active Go Online" ... this should give you a browser in RSLinx ... navigate around through the icons and highlight the MicroLogix processor ... then cross your fingers and click "OK" ... note that using this technique will automatically "re-aim" the driver and node settings for you ...

The fault lies not within our stars, but with the version of the sky.

You have a brand new Micrologix? What about your RSLinx and RSLogix? What versions are they?

If you have an older version, the software may not recognize the PLC as a PLC because it's not on it's internal "list of things that I know how to program" - hence the error message "Target is not a Micrologix".

You can upgrade your RSLinx for free from AB.com (go to Support >> Downloads >> RSLinx >> RSLinx Lite.

If the problem is with your RSLogix..., well, you'll just have to shell out some bucks for an upgrade

eyespyral said: