You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 22nd, 2021, 04:50 PM   #1
mike3475
Member
United States

mike3475 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: brooklyn ,NY
Posts: 245
C600

we have PanelView Component C600 (2711C-T6T) and want to modify it, try to install PanelView Component DesignStation V4.0 in my laptop and one window showing up : installation or uninstallation of PanelView Component DesignSation requires Microsoft Visual Studio Shell 2008 (isolated mode) to be present on the system.

found that VS Shell 2008 (isolated mode) was unavailable in Microsoft website. can we use VS Shell 2010 (isolated mode) to replace it?

any input we appreciated!

thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2021, 09:28 AM   #2
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 723
If you just need to make a very minor change and have lots of patience, you can use the web interface.


If you want to make more extensive modifications, use the newest Connected Components Workbench. You may have to flash the firmware on the old Panelview Component, but I believe you can do that in CCW as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2021, 06:31 PM   #3
mike3475
Member
United States

mike3475 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: brooklyn ,NY
Posts: 245
this system includes C600 and Micro820 (2080-LC20-20AWB) and one VFD PF525. this system is working good so far.
they all connect to one Ethernet switch. we use CCW version 10.01.00-standard edition. In the project organizer in CCW Micro820 and PF525 showed up and didn't show C600. we knew Micro820 and PF525 IP addresses. we can successfully ping Micro820 and PF525 thru our plant Ethernet. we don't know how to find C600 IP address. this C600 firmware revision is 1.80.
Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2021, 06:37 PM   #4
blftech
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

blftech is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 50
If you use the Ethernet/IP driver in RSLinx you should be able to browse the network and show the IP address of the C600 HMI. Hope this helps you out.
__________________
https://www.BLFTech.com Allen Bradley PLC Training and PLC Trainers.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2021, 04:28 PM   #5
mike3475
Member
United States

mike3475 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: brooklyn ,NY
Posts: 245
we use Ethernet/IP driver, still can't find C600, only showed up micro820 and PF525 IP addresses.
is there another way to find C600 IP addresses. very sure C600 is at the same subnet with Micro820 and PF525.
thanks!

Last edited by mike3475; February 24th, 2021 at 04:30 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2021, 06:32 PM   #6
blftech
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

blftech is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 50
Can you access the config screen on the C600? If you can, you can go to the communications option and find the IP address of the C600. You could then use the IP address in your browser to make the changes using the software built into the C600.
__________________
https://www.BLFTech.com Allen Bradley PLC Training and PLC Trainers.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2021, 09:09 PM   #7
mike3475
Member
United States

mike3475 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: brooklyn ,NY
Posts: 245
I don't know how to get in config mode in C600.
and found a interesting post: RSlinx cannot see PanelView Component
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=95646
Thanks blfteck.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2021, 09:26 PM   #8
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike3475 View Post
we use Ethernet/IP driver, still can't find C600, only showed up micro820 and PF525 IP addresses.
is there another way to find C600 IP addresses. very sure C600 is at the same subnet with Micro820 and PF525.
thanks!
Isolate the network to those three devices then run angry ip scanner or wire shark. Process of elimination since you already know two of them, the one with the unique up address should be the c600. In this situation I would use angry up scanner. Will take about 3 seconds to show in a scan.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2021, 10:46 PM   #9
mike3475
Member
United States

mike3475 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: brooklyn ,NY
Posts: 245
I got C600 IP address from angry IP scanner within 2s, wireshark didn't capture nothing.
thanks Dock.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2021, 12:05 PM   #10
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike3475
...try to install PanelView Component DesignStation V4.0 in my laptop and one window showing up : installation or uninstallation of PanelView Component DesignSation requires Microsoft Visual Studio Shell 2008 (isolated mode) to be present on the system.

found that VS Shell 2008 (isolated mode) was unavailable in Microsoft website. can we use VS Shell 2010 (isolated mode) to replace it?...
FYI - Microsoft Visual Studio Shell 2008 Service Pack 1 is installed as a prerequisite installation for PanelView Component DesignStation 3.0 and 4.0.

This means it is included in the installation package. You should be able to find the executable for it unpacked here "C:\VS 2008 Shell Redist\Isolated Mode".

However, DesignStation is quite old now and is officially obsoleted by Rockwell. It is not supported under Windows 10, for instance. Best advice from Rockwell and as mentioned above, is indeed to use CCW instead.

ID: BF23746 | Access Levels: Everyone
PanelView Component DesignStation: Cannot find one or more components. Please reinstall the application.


On browsing to your C600 (2711C-T6T) terminal in CCW...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike3475
...In the project organizer in CCW Micro820 and PF525 showed up and didn't show C600...we use Ethernet/IP driver, still can't find C600, only showed up micro820 and PF525 IP addresses...
Unfortunately, and unless it is being added with later versions of CCW and firmware for these terminals (CCW v13 is imminent and no mention of it), you cannot browse to a PanelView Component terminal using RSLinx Classic or Discover in CCW. These lesser terminals are not designed to be browsed by RSLinx Classic drivers. They use a built in web interface only, as has been mentioned.

Support for an Upload feature was added in CCW v10 and this adds an "Upload" button into the software, regardless of which type of HMI terminal you are adding. However, even though the button is present, it will only work for the PanelView 800 class terminals (at firmware 4 or above) and not the Component class terminals. This can be confusing, of course.

If you don't have the original application for the C600 already in your project, or a copy saved somewhere, you cannot upload it over an Ethernet connection through RSLinx/CCW. You must either perform certain edits via an online browser session using the IP address you have now gleaned and opening the PanelView Explorer webpage OR you may upload the application file (CHA) directly from the terminal using a USB stick, the Ethernet link you are attempting, or a USB link. Which ever way you may choose to transfer the application file to your computer, you may then import it into your CCW project and edit it in there. Once done, you may then use the Download button in the project for the C600 instance you will have created.

You may find that simply editing the terminal via PanelView Explorer in a web browser is sufficient. But if you have CCW and the project for the rest of the hardware (controller/drive) then it makes more sense and is more organized to have all the hardware within the CCW project. The choice is yours though.

See here for more information -

PanelView Component HMI Terminals

Any further questions, shoot.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2021, 05:08 PM   #11
mike3475
Member
United States

mike3475 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: brooklyn ,NY
Posts: 245
finally C600 showed up in web browser with firefox.
now we can edit it.
Geospark gives us very deep detail.
thanks everyone to help us.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture12.PNG (105.1 KB, 14 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for help with a PV c600 impalachris LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 14th, 2014 03:21 PM
PanelView C600 problem swtjhny LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 December 4th, 2013 07:04 AM
PV C600 won't access Micro 830 tags toofast22 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 16th, 2013 09:17 PM
Micro 830 and C600 PV Connection Problems PurdueKid LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 November 5th, 2012 09:27 AM
Connectivity between MicroLogix 1000 and PanelView C600 SergioB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 January 5th, 2012 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


.