You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 17th, 2021, 01:37 PM   #1
Dryhops
Member
United States

Dryhops is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 88
Connecting to an old TotalControl with QuickDesigner 3.7

I've been resurrecting an older machine from 2005 and have had good success with help from the forum. Got connected to the PLC and was able to test I/O, so thanks!

Now I'm trying to connect to a TotalControl QuickPanel and have a few questions. First, can anyone provide the trial copy of QuickDesigner 3.7? It was circulating in a few threads a couple years ago, but the links are broken. I have prepared both windows 2000 and windows XP VMs to try to install it.

The panel has a Modbus Plus communications adapter shown in the image below, which is how it communicates with a SE quantum PLC. This is in addition to two serial ports, a D and a micro port, as well as an ethernet. Which of these communications methods should I be trying to connect with? Can I use the standard comms even with the modbus plus adapter installed?

My goal is to try to backup the HMI program, and possibly modify it.

Thanks for your time.








Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20210217_081052352.jpg (61.2 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20210217_081131543.jpg (94.0 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20210217_081057689.jpg (242.6 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20210217_081104977.jpg (93.5 KB, 44 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2021, 02:39 PM   #2
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,424
The Micro Port is what you will use for communicating with Quick Designer software. It also requires a special TTL/RS232 interface cable. Do not try to connect RS232 to it directly.
Before spending any money on software or cable, I'd suggest you try to find someone local who can come in and try to extract the program for you. In order for anyone to be able to extract the program from the QP, the original programmer must have included the source file in what was sent to the unit. If not, you're out of luck as far as modifications are concerned.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 06:27 AM   #3
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 1,627
This link is to the trial for QuickDesigner. Try the Proface version first.

https://ufile.io/l765br9g
__________________
Automation Programmer
PLC / HMI / SCADA / SQL
New Systems, Modifications
System Upgrades & Conversions
Siemens EPROM & EEPROM Service
------------------------
Visit: contrologica.com
Email: info@contrologica.com
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2021, 06:13 PM   #4
Dryhops
Member
United States

Dryhops is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 88
Thanks for digging up that trial! I really appreciate it.

Would this be an appropriate cable?

https://www.plccable.com/ge-quickpan...sb-gpw-cb03-a/

To be clear, you're saying that I need to have the original HMI program to be able to connect? Or just to make modifications?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2021, 06:32 PM   #5
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,424
That looks like the correct cable. And the seller is first-rate.

The original programmer had an option when he transferred the project to the HMI. He could choose to either allow or disallow the end user from extracting the project file from the HMI. If he chose to disallow, you will still be able to connect. But when you try to upload the project file from the HMI to your PC, you will get a message that uploading is not possible.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble Connecting to PLC RyeGuy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 September 26th, 2019 11:41 PM
Issues Connecting to Factory Talk 8.00 Zpiskun LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 20th, 2019 12:18 PM
Problems Connecting to Micrologix via Ethernet Scottryan03 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 June 28th, 2018 01:06 PM
Quickdesigner 3.7 Proelec LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 9th, 2018 09:54 PM
Tags in QuickDesigner translated to RSLOGIX PaulHilgeman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 April 18th, 2008 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


.