couldn't find my CPU In my TIA Portal

Any name

hello,
I'm working in a project on TIA Portal V13. when I tried to configure my hardware I couldn't my CPU. I checked the compatibility of Siemens and I found that it's not compatible with my TIA Version. is there a way to add the CPU to my library or I need to update my version.

Another question if you may, why we need two hardware for I/O. why the CPU is not enough since I/O are showing on it ?

mind my questions but I'm still a beginner in PLC programming.

If you tell us exactly what hardware you have (part numbers, and firmware version if you know it), we can provide more exact answers.

I'm working in a project on TIA Portal V13. when I tried to configure my hardware I couldn't my CPU. I checked the compatibility of Siemens and I found that it's not compatible with my TIA Version. is there a way to add the CPU to my library or I need to update my version.

Newer Hardware requires newer software, although some things can be updated via HSP (Hardware Support Pack). New CPUs usually require an upgrade to Portal.

It is also possible your HW is so old that it isn't supported, but this usually means pre-2007 HW.

Another question if you may, why we need two hardware for I/O. why the CPU is not enough since I/O are showing on it ?

Not sure what you mean here. Some CPUs do have IO built in, but if you need more than that you need extra IO modules.

I think he means that a compact CPU will take up two hardware slots.

The HSP can be found through the Automation Software Update tool, or here.

If you tell us exactly what hardware you have (part numbers, and firmware version if you know it), we can provide more exact answers.

Newer Hardware requires newer software, although some things can be updated via HSP (Hardware Support Pack). New CPUs usually require an upgrade to Portal.

It is also possible your HW is so old that it isn't supported, but this usually means pre-2007 HW.