rookie needs some help. system design

timbo4255

Hello all. What a cool site! First some info about myself and my project. I am a farmer with enough knowledge to be slightly dangerous. I have this problem with coming up with good ideas and for some reason I can't just let them rest. My banker hates this. Have you guys ever seen a small square bale of hay? 16"x18"x38" and weighing about 80 pounds. Take a pair of hay hooks and manually handle about 50,000 a year. After a while you think of every possible way to avoid manual labor. Well, I think I have it figured out. I am in the process of building a system to organize the bales and strap 18 into a package with plastic poly straps that can be handled with loaders, thus producing lever bales.(Levers on a loader instead of hay hooks)

Oops, I pushed tab.
Anyway, my system is fairly simple in the sense of control. I have 5 hydraulic cylinders, 2 automatic strapping machines, and a handful(8-10) of proximity sensors and microswitches. My problem is that I have only dealt with basic ladder logic in the past and it was only on/off, yes/no programming. There were no variable inputs. Now I must figure a way to stop my cylinders in many different locations, not just in or out. I have found cable pull transducers that I believe would work great for positioning cylinders, but I have no clue about how a plc understands a variable 4-20ma signal. I have not purchased any sensors, hydraulic valves, or a plc yet. Could anyone please help me choose the appropriate plc, transducers, and sensors for this project. Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated Remember, you are dealing with a college educated, yet dumb farmer.

I'm an old farm boy that spent a lot of my youth throwing bales around on hot midwest summer days. (Note to the un-initiated: do not do this with a hangover - I once proved this with one of the most miserable morinings of my degenerate adolescence!)